Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Civic Communication & Media
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides robust coverage of quality research in areas related to communication and mass media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories. 1972 - present
American Periodical Series Online (1740--1900)
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing in the early years of the USA. This history oriented database Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and other historically significant periodicals. There are no "peer reviewed" journals in this database.
This database is produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (an affiliate of Cornell University). iPOLL is a comprehensive full text source for public opinion data in the United States, covering 1935 to the present. iPOLL includes data survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as ABC News, the Gallup Organization, the Pew Research Centers, the Kaiser Family Foundation, and many more. The data come from all the surveys in the Roper Center archive that have US national adult samples or samples of registered voters, women, African Americans, or any subpopulation that constitutes a large segment of the national adult population.
How to Evaluate Resources (Print & Electronic)
Italics indicates special criteria for Internet resources
- Who is the intended audience?
- Is scope or purpose specifically stated? Do the contents match the stated scope?
- Is the point of view stated? Is there a particular agenda that is being pushed?
- Does it have an established reputation? If so, consider what kind of reputation it represents?
- What is the host's motivation for providing the information on the Web?
(Advertising for profit, part of agency's mission, educational purposes, reporting original research, publicizing a particular agenda)
- What information can be gained about the site domain code of the host address?
- .com = commercial source
- .gov = government agency
- .org = non-profit organization
- .net = consortium (profit or non-profit)
- .edu = educational institution
- Is the text well written? Is it written in the language of the discipline or for a general audience?
- Does the source have features, such as charts, illustrations, or a bibliography, that will be helpful?
- Is the information needed to cite the material easily found?
- Is there a lot of information available or is the information it provides limited?
- Are links to other Web resources labeled clearly?
- Is objectivity a factor?
- Who is the author?
- Does the author provide credentials demonstrating expertise or knowledge of the subject?
- Is the publisher reputable?
- Does the resource contain grammatical, spelling or typographical errors?
- Is there any contact information provided?
- Are facts, such as statistics, accurate, current, and verifiable? Are sources of information cited?
- What sources or methods did the author use to gather the information?
- Is the method of obtaining data accurate and dependable?
- Is it refereed/peer-reviewed or did just a staff editor review it? Peer-review means a scholar or researcher in the related field has reviewed it before publication.
- How frequently is the resource updated?
- Are the links to other resources current? And is the page finished or still under construction?
- Does the author list where they get their information from
(e.g. footnotes, bibliography, or reference list)?
- Are there many sources listed?
- Are the author's sources reliable?
- Can you follow their listed sources to obtain the original information sources?
Gary Klein (librarian for CCM)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies