Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
Use the databases linked from this page to find articles on a specific topic. Once you have identified the article, if it is not in full-text in the database, click the maroon colored "Find It @ Willamette" button to see if we have access through a different database, or if we have the article in print. If we do not have a subscription, you will need to order the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
All of these databases are for use by current Willamette University students, faculty, and staff. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your own WU username and password.
Starting point for scholarlly articles on Civic Communication & Media
Communications & Mass Media Complete (from Ebsco)
This is the first choice when researching topics of Rhetoric, Forensics, Communications, Mass Media or Popular Culture. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more journals. When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Other academic databases for Civic Communication & Media
Academic Search Premier (from Ebsco)
This is a good starting place if you need full-text articles -- this is an interdisciplinary database that can limit results to full-text and peer-review (scholarly literature). When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Business Source Premier (from Ebsco)
Offers the broadest coverage for most business research situations and therefore is also the first journal oriented database for students to turn to, for almost any aspect of Advertising, Marketing, Public relations or Consumer oriented surveys.
Gender Studies Database (from Ebsco)
Covers the full range of gender engaged scholarship including women's studies, men's studies from scholarly & non-scholarly sources. Primary coverage starts in 1972, with some sources going back the 1800s.
GreenFILE (from Ebsco)
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. This is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles focusing on a broad range of environmental & sustainable concerns including carbon footprints, global warming, green buildings, air pollution, water pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, energy consumption, and recycling materials.
Full-text. Useful for historical perspectives of a topic. It is the archives of 8 Film Studies titles, as well as 250+ other journals from many disciplines. JSTOR never contains current literature! All articles covered were published 4+ years ago.
MLA International Bibliography (from Ebsco)
Although the primary focus of MLA is language & literature, this also provides access to Argumentation, Media studies, Film studies and communications in general. You can obtain articles by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button. This database also provides access to books & dissertations which do not integrate with the "Find It" button!
Sage Journals Online
Includes coverage of over 30 journals pertinent to Rhetoric & Media Studies since 1999. If you use the "All Sage Content" option, you may find articles that cannot be delivered to you by Sage for free. However, currently enrolled students can obtain them by using our Inter Library Loan Request Forms for free.
Complete list of ALL 230+ databases from Hatfield Library
You can view the entire list of databases available from the Hatfield Library either Alphabetically, or arranged by Subjects / Academic departments.
Public administration and Public policy
PAIS International for Public policy & Public administration
Indexing & abstracting for public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
Magazines & popular reading
American Periodical Series Online (1740--1900)
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals. There are no "peer reviewed" journals in this database.
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890--1982, from Ebsco)
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Articles can be obtained by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button. There are no "peer reviewed" journals in this database.
MasterFile Premier (from Ebsco)
Provides full text for over 1,830 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,800 periodicals. A large portion of the contents are not "peer reviewed". When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Opposing ViewPoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on books & reference works published by selected publishers, OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
There are no peer reviewed articles found in this group of newspaper resources!
Portland Business Journal
Coverage of business news in the Metro Portland area which includes Vancouver, Hillsboro, Beaverton, Gresham and Wilsonville. Provides some coverage of Salem.
Finding Articles from News Sources
Guide to using the appropriate resource, depending on your specific needs for News Sources
Gary Klein (librarian for CCM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies