Research Guides: IDS 101: Generation Z: A Century in the Making: Find More...

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Access World News

This database provides the full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.

Oregonian (1861-present)

Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.

More Newspaper Databases...

Oxford Reference Online
(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
Encyclopedia Britannica
(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

Eating Right for Longevity (WebMD)
WebMD asks, "Does aging equal illness? And what kinds of things should you eat to age well."

Topics covered include:
Anti-Aging Diet, Omega-3s, Online Pharmacies, Caregiver Stress, Protein, Sexuality, Memory, Vitamins, Longevity, Insomnia, Wrinkles, Milestone Medical Tests, etc.
World Health Organization, Data & Statistics (WHO)
The WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.

A-Z Health Topics Index (NIA)
This is very useful for quickly tracking down specific issue and supporting information ranging from abuse and biology of aging to medication, statistics, and vitamins.

Scientific Resources (NIA)
This page includes a host of recent biological resources and research, and data/informatics resources.

Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center (NIA)
Because the NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research, it includes a section entirely devoted to information, publications, news, resources, and research on Alzheimer's topics: The Basics; Causes; Symptoms; Diagnosis; Treatment; Risk Factors and Prevention; and Research.
CIA World Factbook
Contains international stats on: mortality rates, life expectancy at birth and groups of people born in the same year. It also measures the overall quality of life in a country and summarizes the mortality at all ages.
Center for Disease Control on Aging (CDC)
Designed to assist health professionals of the CDC's Healthy Aging Program and The Healthy Brain Initiative to promote independence and wellbeing.

Major CDC topics include:
Healthy Brain Initiative
Data & Statistics
Clinical Preventive Services
Resources, Publications, and Press Room
more...less...
Healthy Brain Initiative
Public health's role in maintaining cognitive health, a vital part of healthy aging and quality of life, is emerging. The need for a clearly delineated public health role comes at a critical time given the dramatic aging of the U.S. population, scientific advancements in knowledge about risk behaviors (e.g., lack of physical activity, uncontrolled high blood pressure) related to cognitive decline, and the growing awareness of the significant health, social, and economic burdens associated with cognitive decline.

Data & Statistics
Provides easy access to most current CDC data on key indicators of health and well-being, screenings and vaccinations, and mental health among older adults. Includes data from the newly-released The State of Aging and Health in America 2013 Adobe PDF file [PDF 4.7M] report, as well as other hard-copy reports from the Healthy Aging Program.

Clinical Preventive Services
Given the rapid aging of the U.S. population, increasing the use of preventive services by adults aged 50 or older is a key public health strategy. Despite the effectiveness of these potentially life-saving preventive services:
- Only 25% of adults aged 50 to 64 years are up to date on services.
- Less than 50% of adults aged 65 years or older are up to date.

Resources, Publications, and Press Room
Split into the main categories for quick access:
- Critical Issue Briefs
- Health Literacy Tools for Professionals Working with Older Adults
- Healthy Aging Podcast Series
- Reports
- Brain Health as you Age
- Journal Articles by Date
- Depression is Not a Normal Part of Growing Older

IDS 101: Generation Z: A Century in the Making

Willamette University Libraries