Research Guides: GCS 250: Narratives of Migration: Articles/Databases

News Databases

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.

Fine Arts Databases

Art Index (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data.

Useful Databases for this Course

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.

Fuente Academica
Provides full text coverage to more than 150 scholarly, academic Spanish language journals from Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. All content is in Spanish and covers wide variety of subjects including politics, history, literature and education.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Library Account Login

Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

GCS 250: Narratives of Migration: Articles/Databases