It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is the mission of Archives, Records and Special Collections to ensure that information documenting the University’s activities is preserved and organized in support of business, regulatory, archival and historic needs.
The Archives Division, established in 1947, houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Oldest documents at the archives include records of the provisional and territorial governments and the Oregon Constitution.
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
The Research Library's collections encompass library and archival materials, including books, serials, newspapers, oral histories, manuscripts, government documents, genealogical and biographical material, photographs, film, and maps.
Provides full text to over 700 historical newspapers. Hatfield Library has series 1, which covers newspapers that began publishing in the colonial period, with some titles providing coverage into the later 1800s. Coverage: 1690-1876
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals.
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Eventually, it is hoped that it will contain newspapers from all U.S. states and territories.
Provides indexing, citations and full text of Early English publications from 1475 to 1800. Included are titles listed in the Short Title Catalogue of Early English Books, 1475-1640 (Pollard and Redgrave), Short Title Catalogue of Early English Books, 1641-1700 (Wing), and the Thomason Tracts, 1640-1660. Included are texts covering English literature, languages, music, religion, science, travel and exploration and politics.
Coverage: 1475 - 1700
The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Upon completion, the Evans Digital Edition will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Coverage: 1639 - 1800
A compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. This archive is one of the first digital archives covering such a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera.
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.
Selectively indexes articles on local and regional topics from the following Oregon newspapers: The Oregonian, Salem Statesman Journal, Eugene Register Guard, Coos Bay World, Corvallis Gazette Times, Klamath Falls Herald & News, The LaGrande Observer, and Willamette Week.
Salem History Project which was funded by a two year grant (2003-2005), and has not been updated since that time. Includes the Oregon Historic Photo Collection, which contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities.
Provides the most current access to the New York Times, but does not include graphics, ads, and some commentary.
Library of American Civilization (LAC)
This collection of materials on microfiche relates to all aspects of American life from the colonization of the country to WWI. Includes pamphlets, periodicals, documents, biographies, works of fiction, poetry, collections, and materials of foreign origin relating to America. Each title is cataloged individually, and listed in the online catalog. The set is located on the first floor of the library in the microform area.
The Video Library includes over 160,000 hours of coverage of C-SPAN programs since 1987. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.