Research Guides: HIST 444: Seminar in Historiography: Articles/Databases

Core History Databases

America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Annee Philologique
The online version of Annee Philologique, which provides an analytical and critical bibliography of the study of Greek and Roman antiquity. The database contains over 810,000 bibliographic records covering Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.

Searching Learned Society Databases

Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
A short tutorial about search strategies.

Searching Historical Abstracts or America History and Life

America History and Life Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.

Historical Abstracts Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

Limiting Your Searches

Useful Indexing Databases

American Doctoral Dissertations
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Some citations include a link to access the full text when available.
Coverage: 1902-
Readers Guide Retrospective
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Coverage: 1890 - 1982

Useful Databases for this Course

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Grove Music Online
The online version of the classic music encyclopedia.
Johns Hopkins Literary Theory & Criticism
Offers succinct, focused articles that provide an overview of literary theory from a twentieth-century Western perspective.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music,
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 200,000 publications including: Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 570 journals from 43 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies. 1940 - present
PsycINFO
Covers professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines, with more than 3.5 million records, 1,700 journals, and nearly 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. 1887 - present
Religion and Philosophy Collection
With hundreds of full-text, scholarly journals, Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, etc.

ARTstor

ARTstor Now fully integrated with JSTOR - ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

HIST 444: Seminar in Historiography: Articles/Databases