Research Guides: JAPN 399: Visual Narratives: From Emaki to Manga: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Databases Everyone Should Use

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 1300 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.

Useful Databases for this Course

Oxford Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Bibliography of the History of Art (1973-2009)
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

JAPN 399: Visual Narratives: From Emaki to Manga: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Google Scholar

Databases Everyone Should Use

Useful Databases for this Course

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Willamette University Libraries