Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

IDS 101: Constructing Reality: Articles / Databases

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  Find it at Willamette

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection. 

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Finding databases that cover other subjects

Just Starting Your Research?

Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.

Noteworthy academic journal databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (database)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a very helpful database for identifying topics from current social issues & controversies. Features full text articles from a variety of different types of sources:  magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, images, government documents, videos, podcasts, and links to websites. 

The results of this database are meant to be representative of differing perspectives & opinions, but this database does not try to be comprehensive in scope!  It offers access to a wide variety of resource across the spectrum of opinions, without telling you which side of a debate that each document is supporting.  Incorporates a mixture of objective & subjective sources on most topics covered.

There are 3 different ways to start searching the Opposing Viewpoints database:

a):  Using the white search box (found on the left side of the screen)

b):  Using the major categories of topics (found in the center of the screen, just below the photo)

c):  Using the "advanced search" option (click on the white text located just below the horizontal white search box).  This will open up a set of search boxes looking similar to what you get with most article oriented databases: