Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

IDS 105: Transition to College Learning: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  Find it at Willamette

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection. 

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published.  This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 5 min.)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,900 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

JSTOR

JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire collection is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. You won't find any current editions of journals in JSTOR.

 

.

.

.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Systems Librarian

Bill Kelm's picture
Bill Kelm
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5332
Website