This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

ARCH 499: Archaeology Senior Experience Project: Chicago & APA Style Guides, Zotero & H-Drive

Zotero

 

Zotero is a free, open source browser app that collects, manages, cites, and shares your research sources. It lives right in your web browser, and has a similar design to the iTunes library. 

For help with Zotero contact:
Bill Kelm, bkelm@willamette.edu or
John Repplinger, jrepplin@willamette.edu

Writing Center

   Student studying in the library
   

Having problems writing your paper?  The Writing Center offers individual appointments with a writing consultant. Writing Center Consultants will give honest feedback about where the writing confuses them, or loses them, particularly interests them, leaves them needing additional explanation or support, and the like. They can help writers to organize their arguments more effectively by asking them, for example, what the organizing principle at work in the current draft is.

Writing Center Web Page
(503-370-6959)

FORD HALL HOURS (Room 105)

  • Sun 3-9:00 pm
  • Mon 6-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6-9:00 pm
  • Thu 3-9:00 pm

HATFIELD LIBRARY HOURS

  • Mon 6-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6-9:00 pm

Support for students whose home language is not English will also be provided. Appointments are available for signup on the WISE site, Writing Center, with those of all other consultants.  Print forms are available in the Writing Center (Ford 105)

Other Resources

For more citation styles, click here.

 

All of the books listed here can be found in the Citation Collection, located adjacent to the reference desk.

Chicago Style Guide

The Chicago style tends to be used with the humanities (e.g. literature, history, arts). The library has an online subscription, and the print edition is located in the citation manual collection by the reference desk.

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.

The more concise author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

APA Citation Guide

The American Psychology Association (APA) style is designed for the social & life sciences (e.g. psychology, anthropology, medicine). These examples are adapted from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  The print edition is located in the citation manual collection by the reference desk (Call number: Reference BF 76.7 .C66 2005, p177-190).

You will need to cite your sources in two places within your paper: in-text and bibliography
Part I outlines how to cite a source in the paragraph where you have quoted, summarized, or paraphrased from the source (called an in-text citation)

Part II outlines how to create an list of references, known as a bibliography, at the end of your paper that lists anything you cite.

For more examples, use Purdue's APA Style Guide resource: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/02/

APA Style & Citation Guide

APA Examples - Part I

PART I- CITATIONS IN TEXT

You must cite the source of either a quotation or paraphrased material, regardless of the type of source: book, magazine or journal article, newspapers, etc. The APA uses the author-date method of citation; that is, the last name of the author and the year of publication are inserted in the text at the appropriate point.

Citing a work by a single author:
A recent study of stress levels (Brown, 1991) reveals gender related differences in these levels. OR,
In a recent study of stress levels, Brown (1991) discusses gender-related differences in these levels.

Citing a work by two authors:
When a work has two authors, ALWAYS cite both names every time you cite the work in the text of your paper.
In a recent study, Williams and Jones (1984) found...

Citing a work by more than two, but less than six, authors
When a work has more than two authors but less than six authors, list every author the first time; thereafter, cite only the last name of the first author followed by "et al."
Jones, Brown, Williams, and Smith (1991) found, in a recent study... [FIRST CITATION]
Jones et al. (1991) found... [SUBSEQUENT CITATIONS]

Citing a work without authors
When a work does not have an author, use the editor or organization name instead if it is available. When it has no identified author, cite in text the first few words of the reference list entry (usually the title) and the year. Use double quotation marks around the title of an article, a chapter, or a web page and italicize the title of a periodical, a book, a brochure, or a report.
... on free care ("Study Finds," 2007)
... the book College Bound Seniors (2008)
... a study by the National Kidney and Transplant Division of Urology (1999) shows that...

APA Examples - Part II

PART II - REFERENCES

Note: The second and subsequent lines of a citation should be indented five spaces.


Book by one or more main authors

Strunk, W., Jr., & White, E.B. (1979). The elements of style (3rd ed.) New York: MacMillan.


Edited book

Letheridge, S., & Cannon, C.R. (Eds.). (1980). Bilingual education: Teaching English as a second language. New York: Praeger.


Book editions

Wink, J. (2005). Critical pedagogy: Notes from the real world (4th ed.). Boston: Pearson/Allyn & Bacon.


Article or chapter in an edited book

Hartley, J.T., Harker, J.O., & Walsh, D.A. (1980). Contemporary issues and new directions in adult development of learning and memory. In L.W. Poon (Ed.), Aging in the 1980s: Psychological issues (pp. 239-252). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.


Journal article, one author

Paivio, A. (1975). Perceptual comparisons through the mind's eye. Memory and Cognition, 3, 635-647.


Journal article, two authors

Barber, A. E. & Roehling, M. V. (1993). Job postings and the decision to interview: A verbal protocol analysis. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78, 845-856.


Journal article, more than two authors

Horowitz, L.M., Post, D.L., French, R.S., Wallis, K.D., & Siegelman, E.Y. (1981). The prototype as a construct in abnormal psychology: 2. Clarifying disagreement in psychiatric judgments. Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 90, 575-585.


Note: Citations for journals with separate pagination for each issue should include the issue number in parentheses after the volume number. ie.,81 (2), 444-447.


Magazine article

Jensen, L. (1993, December 30). What's love got to do with it. Time, 69, 643-644.


Newspaper article, no author

Study finds free care used more. (1982, April). APA Monitor, p. 14.


Speech

Simpleton, J. (2009, January). Nationalization of Government. Speech presented at the Preservation of Democracy Society, Knoxville, TN.


Televison Broadcast

Riker, David (Director). (2005, February 11). The city: La ciudad [Television broadcast]. Alexandria: Public Broadcasting Service. 

 

ERIC Document

Jordan, W.J., & Nettles, S.M. (1999). How students invest their time out of school: effects on school engagement, perceptions of life chances, and achievement (Report No. 29). Baltimore, MD: Center for Research on the Education of Students Placed at Risk. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED428174)

Internet resource
 

Author/editor. (Year, month day). Title. Retrieved (Access date), from (complete URL).

Unlandherm, F. (1997, May 2). Middle East studies resources. Retrieved August 19, 1997 from http://www.columbia.edu/cu/libraries/indiv/area/MiddleEast/index.html.

Arab republic of Egypt. (1997, June 1). Retrieved August 18, 1997 from http://menic.utexas.edu/menic/countries/egypt.html.


Other examples of citing Internet resources

Nancy Crane and Xia Li, Electronic Styles: A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information (Ref. PN171. F56 L5 1996), or the Concise Rules of APA Style (Ref BF 76.7 .C66 2005), p. 177-190. They are shelved adjacent to the Reference Desk, and the APA style guide help is online at APA Style.org.

Network Storage

Students, faculty and staff have access to personal storage space on Willamette's network file server.  The NetFiles storage space can be used to store and back up data for classes, projects and academic research.  The file servers themselves are backed up regularly and data can be recovered in cases of local hard drive failures or accidental file corruption or deletion.  All members of the community are strongly encouraged to save any files that cannot afford to be lost to their NetFiles storage space. 

The disk quota for each account is 20 GB.  You can check your current NetFiles disk usage online.

NetFiles makes daily copies of each stored file, called snapshots. These snapshots are user-accessible so you can retrieve your own files from a previous version. Please contact the WITS Help Desk or your user services consultant for help accessing or using the snapshots.

The file server may be accessed from any computer that has network connectivity. It is similar to DropBox or other on-line storage services - and it's completely free.  Here's how to connect to your NetFiles storage:

On-Campus access: Map drives for PCsMap drives for Macs OSX
Off-Campus access: Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP)
Personal Web Pages: Netfile directory
More info at: http://www.willamette.edu/wits/help/home/index.html