Research Guides: IDS 101: Hippies to Holy Rollers: the Cults and Communes of Oregon: Locating Articles

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.

Other Potentially Useful Databases

America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
more...less...
To locate Book Reviews, limit your search by "Document Type" and select "Book Review."
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world. Approximately 35% of the articles indexed are not in English.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
MasterFile Premier
This resource covers general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. It contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos.
Sociological Abstracts (Soc. Abs.)
Soc. Abs. provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Oregonian (Newsbank)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon; it is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation. Covers 1987 to date.
Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP)
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.

IDS 101: Hippies to Holy Rollers: the Cults and Communes of Oregon: Locating Articles