Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Online Encyclopedias and More
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Oxford Reference Online
200+ well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview
of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include
references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of new religious movements
Call Number: Ebook
"New Religious Movements (NRMs) can involve vast numbers of followers and in many cases are radically changing the way people understand and practice religion and spirituality. The Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements provides global coverage of the phenomenon, with entries on over three hundred movements from almost every country in the world."
Encyclopedia of religion and society
Call Number: Ref. BL60 .E53 1998
"This comprehensive volume is an essential reference for the study of the anthropology, psychology, politics, or sociology of religion."
Encyclopedia of religion in America
Call Number: Ref. BL2520 .E52 2010
"Explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults and movements." 4 volumes
Encyclopedia of millennialism and millennial movements
Call Number: Ref. BT891 .E53 2000
"The Encyclopedia of Millennialism and Millennial Movements is a guide to the religious or spiritual social movements throughout history and around the world that have promised to create a better world or usher in a new one."
Online Regional Resources
HistoryLink.org is an evolving online encyclopedia of Washington state and local history. Most of the essays and features "are original works prepared exclusively for HistoryLink.org by staff historians, contract writers, volunteers, and consulting experts."
The Oregon Encyclopedia
The Oregon Encyclopedia provides definitive, authoritative information about the State of Oregon, including significant places, culture, institutions, events, and people." It is part of the Oregon Historical Society's Digital History Projects.