Research Guides: IDS 101: Beethoven, Romanticism, and the Concept of the Hero: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Just starting? This is great resource to begin your research!

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database for more than 3,600 academic journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural fields of study. It can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. Much of what you find is available in full text, but not everything.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.

Useful Databases for this Course

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 400 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

IDS 101: Beethoven, Romanticism, and the Concept of the Hero: Articles/Databases