Research Guides: THTR 219: Theatre History II: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Use "Google Grammar" to improve your search. For example:

"alienation effect" +Brecht

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.
Searching the MLA International Bibliography versus Using the Library's Home Page Search Function
Names as Subjects in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
A short tutorial about search strategies.

Useful Databases for this Course

Johns Hopkins Literary Theory & Criticism
Offers succinct, focused articles that provide an overview of literary theory from a twentieth-century Western perspective.
Academic Search Premier
A full-text interdisciplinary database for more than 3,600 academic journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural fields of study.
America: History and Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Periodical Series Online
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900.
Art Index (1929 -1984)
This electronic version of Art Index provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English.
Art Index (1984 - present)
This electronic version of Art Index provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English.
Chronicling America
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Coverage: 1836-1922
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Historical New York Times, 1851-2006
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music.
Oxford Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Music Online
Contains the online version of the classic New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as online versions of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890 - 1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Streaming Video Collections

Academic Video Online
Provides videos with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, etc..
BBC Shakespeare Plays
Provides streaming access to the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced. Also included on this site are Shakespeare in Italy and Shakespeare: The Animated Tales..
Digital Theatre Plus
Recently launched, expanding streaming video resource divided into 5 categories: recent British theatrical productions, making theater, study guides, teaching support, and collections.

ARTstor

ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.

THTR 219: Theatre History II: Articles/Databases