Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias and More
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Using the Hatfield Library during the Covid 19 Pandemic
Reference / Getting Research Help:
Circulation / Checking Out Books, DVDs, etc.:
All items removed from the shelves, returned, or ordered via ILL or Summit will be quarantined for 72 hours before being available.
Contactless check out will remain available for those that request it in the front vestibule. You may access the vestibule with your valid ID 24 hours/day.
Building Policies for Fall Semester 2020:
The maximum occupancy of the Hatfield Library is 100 people.
Access is restricted to current students, staff. faculty, and
Bring your ID card. A card swipe is required for access.
Water fountains have been shut down until further notice.
Closed container beverages are permitted.
Eating is not allowed.
Masks are required.
Seating is marked to encourage social distancing. 6 feet of
Want more information about the new changes?
Library Map and Tour
Library Building Map & Tour
This guide offers you a virtual tour of the library and the resources within the building that are available to you.
Major Theatre History Reference Books
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1625.M3 1984
Ranging from the earliest drama to the theater of the 1980's this encyclopedia includes coverage of national drama and theater around the world, theater companies, and musical comedy.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1861 .C65 2007
An A to Z reference for modern drama. It highlights the interdisciplinary nature of drama by placing playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts. It focuses on drama in the literary sense rather than as performance. It also follows the development of modern theater in both Western Europe and Eastern Europe.
International Dictionary of Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN2035 .I49
Publication Date: 1992
1. Plays -- 2. Playwrights -- 3. Actors, directors, and designers.
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2035 .W67 1994
Six-volume encyclopedia documenting artistic development around the world. Includes articles on playwriting, music theatre, dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture, technology, training, criticism, and scholarship.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2860 .E53 2007
Alphabetically arranged entries present information about playwrights, directors, actors, places, themes, styles, costumes, and sets of both modern and traditional Asian theater.
Topical Theatre History Reference Books
Major Modern Dramatists by
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN1861.M27
v. 1. American, British, Irish, German, Austrian, and Swiss dramatists v. 2. Norwegian, Swedish, French, Belgian, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Hungarian, and Polish dramatists
Latin American Dramatists Since 1945
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PQ 7082.D7 H37 2003
This resource compiles and locates biographical and bibliographical information of over 700 prominent Latin American dramatists of the late 20th century
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
Latin American Studies
Hours during the Academic Year
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Mon-Thur 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
firstname.lastname@example.org for an appointment.
Note: The library is closed to the general public and open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
More calendar info...
Related Theatre History Reference Books