Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Identifying Sociologists--Print Books in Stacks
Below are examples of books we have in the stacks that might help you identify an interesting sociologist and the books he or she wrote:
Identifying Sociologists--Print Reference Resources
Below are reference books that may be useful for identifying important sociologists and their contributions to sociology:
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Call Number: Ref. H41 .I58 2001
This set covers all the social sciences not just Sociology. The indexes (Volume 25 Name Index, Volume 26 Subject Index) may be particularly useful. For instance, if you look up Goffman in the Subject Index, you can see where his name appears in all the volumes in the set, discover the various theories associated with him, and even see a list of his works.
The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology
Call Number: Ref. HM425 .B53 2007
Look up sociologists by their last names; remember to look at the list of references at the end of each entry. Also, check out the timeline and the lexicon near the front of volume one. The timeline provides a listing of many of "the most influential events, figures, and publications to have made an impact on the field of sociology." The lexicon has a "theory" section that lists theories and theorists; you can use these terms as entry into the encyclopedia volumes.
Encyclopedia of social theory
Call Number: Ref. HM425 .E47 2005
A "Reader's Guide" is listed in the front of volume one that includes a handy list of theorists. You will also find the names of key figures associated with various theories.