Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
- Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
- If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
- If we don't
have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.
Primary Sociology Database
Sociological Abstracts (1952 to date)
Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Other Useful Databases
Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.
Academic Search Premier
Offers mostly full text articles from thousands of social sciences, humanities, science and arts journals.
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy, including the philosophy of sociology. Over 570 journals from 43 countries are covered as well as some books and anthologies.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes social sciences journals and allows you to find out if your original article has been cited in another author's published research. This way you can gather more recent articles on your topic and you can gauge whether the research is significant.
All Databases at Willamette
Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.