Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).
Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.
Some criteria for evaluating web sites include (click here for more info):
You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site.
General Math Sites
Historical Mathematics Books
The Historical Mathematics Collection is a growing library of e-books from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.
Mathematics reference education science. An online collection of mathematical functions traditionally published in paper as tables of functions and formula. This is claimed to be the largest compilation of mathematical functions on the Web (currently over 37,000). It includes an encyclopedia that provides in-depth explanations on topics, and sophisticated search engine to search the site.
This web site it totally devoted to the understanding of prime number research and resources. Contains links to research in prime numbers, including lists of prime numbers, articles, software, and even a section on Gallimaufry.
Proof Explorer - Metamath
Web site contains over 5,000 computer-verified formal definitions, and axioms in logic and set theory.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. This resource has been assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community.