Reference books provide a general overview or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data and often include bibliographies or lists of further readings. Below is a sampling from the Reference Collection, which is located on the 1st floor of the library.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by 
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts by 
Sex and Sexuality by 
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by 
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Men and Masculinities
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
The Dictionary of Feminist Theory by 
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism by 
Women's Lives Around the World by 
Feminism and Women's Rights Worldwide
Misogyny in American Culture by 
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans StudiesListed below are examples of subject words to use when searching for books and other materials in the catalog. Click on the link to search Willamette's catalog.
Sex Discrimination Against Women
Using some of these words (e.g. Queer Theory or Women's Rights) as a keyword search will yield different results, such as chapters in books that focus on a broader topic.
Wilma Mankiller: how one woman united the Cherokee Nation and helped change the face of America by 
Disrupting Dignity: rethinking power and progress in LGBTQ lives by 
Gender in History: global perspectives by 
Gender Threat: American masculinity in the face of change by 
Dear Abby, I'm Gay: newspaper advice columnists and homosexuality in America by 
T: the Story of Testosterone, the Hormone That Dominates and Divides Us by 
