Research Guides: Women's & Gender Studies: Articles (Databases)

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Journal Finder

Journals in the library collection

Search for a journal title or browse journals by category

Google Scholar Search

Potentially Useful Databases

Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more.
Communications and Mass Media Complete
Provides robust coverage of quality research in areas related to communication and mass media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Diversity Database
Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Health Source
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights
Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.
Political Science Database
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
PsycINFO
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Social Science Database
Offers extensive coverage across a full span of social sciences disciplines to facilitate multidisciplinary research.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers over 3,000 journals that research sociology, social work, and other aspects of the social sciences.

Women's & Gender Studies: Articles (Databases)

How To Get Articles

Journal Finder

Google Scholar Search

Potentially Useful Databases

Willamette University Libraries