Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).
Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.
Some criteria for evaluating web sites include (click here for more info):
You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site.
Chemistry (General Resources)
Chemistry WebBook (NIST)
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
Key Values for Thermodynamics (CODATA)
Contains a table of thermodynamic data for selected substances. It also establishes internationally agreed values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances. Maintained by the Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA).
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Virtual Library
This outstanding virtual library collection of NIST chemistry resources covers topics on: chemical characterization of materials, process metrology, chemical and biochemical sensing, nanotechnology, healthcare measurements, environmental measurements, physical property data, chemical and biochemical data, bio-molecules and materials, DNA technologies, and international measurement standards.
Organic Chemistry Resources is a website designed by and for the specific needs of organic chemists. Its aim is to provide a one-stop shop where reliable, regularly updated information is available at high speed.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. This resource has been assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
Contains spectra (mass, NMR, and infrared) for over 30,000 compounds. Searchable by compound names, formula, mw, and registry number.