Research Guides: Chemistry: Finding Books

Finding Books

One of the best ways to find relevant materials for your research is using the library catalog.
Start your research journey by typing in a topic below and hitting the "search" button.

FIND BOOKS, MOVIES, & MORE!

Browse for Books

Based on the Library of Congress Classification. The general collection of the Hatfield Library is located on the second floor.

Q Science General
QD Chemistry: QD 1-65 General Chemistry; QD 71-142 Analytical Chemistry; QD 146-197 Inorganic Chemistry; QD 241-441 Organic Chemistry; QD 415-436 Biochemistry; QD 450-801 Phys/Theor. Chem.; QD 625-655 Radiation Chemistry; QD 701-735 Photochemistry; QD 901-999 Crystallography
R Medicine
RM Pharmacology
TP Chemical Technology

Select Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings. They are located on the first floor of the Hatfield Library.

Lange's handbook of chemistry
Call Number:
Reference QD65 .L36 2005
A great starting point for finding basic info on elements, molecular compounds, radicals, compound mixtures, densities, melting & boiling points, and solubility in organic & inorganic compound solvents.
The Merck Index by Susan Budavari (Editor)
Call Number: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN: 9780911910124
Publication Date: 1996
The Merck Index has been THE go-to reference for generations of professionals looking for precise, comprehensive information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Aldrich chemistry : handbook of fine chemicals
Call Number: Reference QD65 .A46 2009-10
Also available online, this is useful for ordering chemicals and pricing them out. Includes: chemical formula & formula weight, molecular formula index, CAS number index, organic ring system and numbering, 20,000 chemical structures/linear formulas, review articles about chemicals for further reading, hazards, storage & handling directions, and package size & cost.
(Ebook) CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number:
Reference QD65.H3 2011
This is packed with chemical and physical data including: basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, scientific terminology and symbols, physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, molecular structure and spectroscopy, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, atomic, molecular, optical, nuclear and particle physics, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, acoustics, and practical laboratory data and safety. (Updated annually)
A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances by Pradyot Patnaik
Call Number: Reference Collection RA 1211.P38 1999
ISBN: 0471291757
Publication Date: 1999
Contains physical properties of compounds and hazardous characteristics, toxic properties, target organs and toxicology, cancer-causing chemicals, teratogenic substances, habit-forming & addictive substances, flammable & combustible & explosive properties of chemical substances, and more.
(Ebook) A Dictionary of Scientists by John Daintith; Derek Gjertsen
ISBN: 9780585110479
Publication Date: 1999
Spans all science disciplines with over 1,600 scientists. It features all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
(Ebook) Notable Scientists from 1900 to the Present by Brigham Narins
Call Number: QD21 .O34 2002
ISBN: 9780787617516
Publication Date: 2000

Chemistry

Willamette University Libraries