Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of scientific information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage to scholarly
communications to advertisements to science buff sites. Be careful when
using information from web sites, it is changed often which makes it
hard to cite it in a paper. It is perferable to use the print equivalent to electronic information because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).
Film Studies Web Sites
These are general links to Film studies sites.
Chinese Movie Database
Covers Chinese movies made from 1905 to the present, in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, as well as other countries. Searchable by title and personal name. Includes lists of bibliographies, a movie poster collection, lists of awards and other links.
Film Literature Index Online
An online version of the standard print film index, FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Internet Movie Database
An easily searched and browsed catalog of information on over 200,000 movie & TV titles, 400,000 actors and actresses, nearly 40,000 directors and hundreds of thousands of other people connected with film and television.
Movie Review Query Engine
Provides links to online film reviews as well as articles covering over 30,000 movies, both domestic and international.
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
Provides access to major film archives worldwide. Also provides links to publications, studios, copyright information, and organizations.
Dedicated to the study of film and television, this site offers links to other selected sites that offer education, research and production information. Under education are links to syllabi, jobs, and schools. The research category offers bibliographies, indexes and discussion groups.
Search engine for all types of information about current and past films.
Silent Film Sources
Directory of vendors offering silent films on video.
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies