Research Guides: SOC 499: Senior Seminar in Sociology: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.

Primary Sociology Database

Sociological Abstracts
Often referred to as Soc Abs, Sociological Abstracts is the best place to go when looking for journal articles dealing with sociology topics. Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences. Includes citations to book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
more...less...
(1952 to date)

Other Potentially Useful Databases

Periodicals/journals are important sources for current news and information about recent research. Databases are often the best way to locate these articles.

Academic Search Premier
Offers mostly full text articles from thousands of social sciences, humanities, science and arts journals.
Anthrosource
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
Art Full Text
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Full text is provided to more than 300 periodicals. Includes coverage of film, photography and architecture.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Education Database
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals.
ERIC (Education)
Covers journal and research literature in the field of education. Includes two files: Research in Education (RIE), which indexes and abstracts the miscellaneous education literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), which indexes and abstracts over 775 periodicals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship.
Health Source
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
HeinOnline
Provides the entry way to a database of over 1,200 law review journals, as well as legal histories, Congressional documents, documents relating to U.S. Presidents, and other legal resources. It contains more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes of material.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Does NOT include articles from the most recent few years of any journal!!
PAIS International
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and more.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycInfo
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Public Health Database
Provides journal articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations on public health issues.
Social Science Database
Offers extensive coverage across a full span of social sciences disciplines to facilitate multidisciplinary research.
SPORT Discus
Provides comprehensive, international coverage of sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching and physical education. Materials abstracted include articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues

CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

SOC 499: Senior Seminar in Sociology: Articles/Databases