PPLE 315-02: Race, Racism & Reconciliation: Historical newspapers & Primary sources

EBONY MAGAZINE started publishing monthly issues in 1945, formatted as a news & photographic essay, looking at the lives of Black families across the USA featuring coverage of education, history, politics, art, business, personalities, literature, civil rights, sports, entertainment, music and social events of newsworthy Afro-Americans, as well as everyday slice-of-life conversations about life in America, from African American perspectives.  The magazine is similar in scope and visual style to other popular nationwide news magazine of that era, such as LOOK Magazine, LIFE Magazine and the SATURDAY EVENING POST.

EBONY MAGAZINE is available from the Hatfield Library in different formats, depending on the dates that you want to focus on:

• November 1945 through December 1960 = No indexing available from Hatfield Library. Must submit a request using Inter Library Loan to get a copy of an article from this time period.
• January 1961 through December 1987 = Indexing is available from a combination of the Readers Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective database and the Academic Source Complete database.  However, to get a copy of an article from this time period, you will have to use Hatfield Library's collection of MICROFILM (located between the Government Documents collection and the windows near the parking lot).
• January 1988 through December 2008 = FULL TEXT is available online by clicking this link to the Proquest Central database
• March 1988 through March 2019 = FULL TEXT is available online by clicking this link to the Academic Search Complete database

Here is an example of one page from VITAL SPEECHES OF THE DAY, that was published on July 1, 1949: