Work: Making a Life Making a Living
Work is more than a way to make a living; it’s also a big part of life. What makes for a good career or even just an adequate work-life? The answers have changed throughout history, differ across cultures and societies, and vary by individual perspective. Some people’s jobs define their personal identities, while for others work is just a routine part of adulthood. Some endure drudgery for higher pay or simply to make ends meet. Some people pursue long-term career ambitions while others, willingly or not, bounce from job to job or shift occupations repeatedly. Social distinctions - gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic class, health status, and generation – condition the experience of work. The occupational structure is ever-changing and can seem arbitrary, but its intricacies powerfully shape work-life. Some jobs are prestigious or lucrative or both, while other work is less respected or low-paid, even when it is essential to society. What factors make-up working lives and cause them to differ? Do people craft good work-lives by choosing their endeavors thoughtfully and taking pride in their work, or does it depend much more on circumstances and luck? Do public policies and social conventions determine work-life’s patterns and value, or are jobs intrinsically better or worse? How have the basic features of work-life changed across history, and will current trends related to automation and artificial intelligence systems, job-hopping and the gig economy make the goal of a planned, coherent career obsolete? Our colloquium will explore these questions by reading, speaking, and writing about a variety of texts - social science studies, journalism, ethnographic interviews, and documentary films.
Course taught by: Greg Felker Colloquium Associate: Sean Olson
The Mark O. Hatfield Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to group items with similar topics together. Each item is assigned a unique call number, which helps people to locate material on the shelf. The Library of Congress uses a combination of letters and numbers, and each call number begins with a letter.
To the right are the general call numbers and the main topics within the Library of Congress system. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF document.
This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Encyclopaedia of Human Rights in the United States, 2 Volume Set by 
Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival
Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies by Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
An Atlas of Poverty in America by 
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by 
Class in America - an encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by 
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by 
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by 
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History - An Encyclopedia by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by 
The Social History of the American Family - an encyclopedia by 
Social Issues in America : an encyclopedia by 
Unspinning the Spin : the Women's Media Center guide to fair and accurate language by 
