Globalization 5.0 ?
Globalization has been transforming the world we live in. From the products we buy to the ideas we share and debate and to the income we divide, globalization affects every aspect of our lives. Globalization is driven by a confluence of cultural, economic, political and technological forces and it has generated far-reaching benefits and harms. Nonetheless, the most recent, digital-driven globalization 4.0 is under intensifying challenges. From the 2008 Global Financial Crisis, to Brexit, to the US-China “trade war” and to the Russia-Ukraine war, globalization seems retracted and even may come to an end “as we know it”, some commenters argue. In this course, students will undertake an interdisciplinary approach to study the major driving forces of globalization since the 15th century; investigate how globalization affects trade, supply chain, income distribution, environmental sustainability and many other aspects; analyze the current counter-globalization issues and events; and map out the possible paths to globalization. Through critical reading, informed discussions and thoughtful writing, we will together explore the important and timely topic of globalization.
Course taught by: Yan Liang Colloquium Associate: Jazmin Hurtado-Cortes
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content, it is sometimes considered unreliable. It is a good place to start your research, but it is best to double check what you find against other sources.
Consider consulting the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your paper. Reference books can provide a general overview of a topic and help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data; these sources often include references and lists of further readings. Additionally, these resources have typically gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Great Recession 2007-2010 by 
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics by 
Historical Dictionary of NATO and other international security organizations by 
Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival by Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
An Atlas of Poverty in America by 
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, 11 Volume Set by 
Class in America - an encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by 
Encyclopedia of New Media: an essential reference to communication and technology by 
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by 
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by 
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by 
Global Organized Crime: a reference handbook by 
Global Refugee Crisis: a reference handbook by 
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by 
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History - An Encyclopedia by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by 
Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia by 
Unspinning the Spin : the Women's Media Center guide to fair and accurate language by 
