Research Guides: SOC 382: Human Rights: Research and Advocacy: Reference Materials

Reference Books--Subject Specific

Encyclopedia of American Indian issues today
Call Number: Ref. E76.2.E527 2013
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
Call Number: Ref. E98.T77 J63 2013
People of Color in the United States: contemporary issues in education, work, communities, health, and immigration.
Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 P384 2016
4 volumes
Race and Racism in the United States: an encyclopedia of the American mosaic
Call Number: Ref. E184.A1 R254 2014
4 volumes
Latinx studies : the key concepts
Call Number: Ref. E184.S75 A77 2019
Black Power Encyclopedia: from "Black is beautiful" to urban uprisings
Call Number: Ref. E185.615 .B546647 2018
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ref. GT2850 .E53 2003
The SAGE encyclopedia of economics and society
Call Number: Ref. HB61 .S17564 2015
4 volumes
Water Planet: the culture, politics, economics, and sustainability of water on Earth
Call Number: Ref. HD1691 .W3254 2016
Encyclopedia of activism and social justice
Call Number: Ref. HM671 .E53 2007
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of environment and society
Call Number: Ref. HM856 .E53 2007
5 volumes
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements
Call Number: Ref. HM881 .W553 2013
3 volumes
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
Call Number: Ref. HQ73 .G56 2019
3 volumes
Women's Lives Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. HQ1115 .W6437 2018
4 volumes
Sourcebook on Violence Against Women
Call Number: Ref. HV6250.4.W65 S68 2018
Encyclopedia of human rights
Call Number: Ref. JC571 .E673 2009
5 volumes
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Call Number: Ref. JF799 .H38 2014
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Call Number: Ref. LC1099 .E53 2012
4 volumes
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Call Number: Ref. RA441 .E53 2008
4 volumes

Subject Librarian

Joni Roberts

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-370-6741

Subjects: American Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, Global Cultural Studies, Oregon & Pacific Northwest, Public Health, Sociology, Women's & Gender Studies

Reference Books--General Social Sciences/Theory

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
Call Number: Ref. H41.I58 2015
26 volumes
Encyclopedia of social theory
Call Number: Ref. HM425 .E47 2005
2 volumes

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.

Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Sherwood Thompson
Call Number: Online Access
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Call Number: Online Access
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Online Access
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Call Number: Online Access
Latinas in the United States:a historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Online Access

Statistical Information

Looking for statistical information? There are many places to find statistics...newspapers, journal articles, web pages. Below are just a couple of places that might be helpful:

How to Find Statistics
This is a library guide created by Gary Klein who is the liaison librarian for Atkinson, Economics, Psychology, and Civic Communication and Media at the Hatfield Library. He is also the library's Statistics Guru.
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organizations of the United States.

SOC 382: Human Rights: Research and Advocacy: Reference Materials

Reference Books--Subject Specific

Subject Librarian

Reference Books--General Social Sciences/Theory

Online Encyclopedias

Statistical Information

Willamette University Libraries