Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Times Historical
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Historic Oregon Newspapers
This full-text searchable database contains over 900,000 pages of Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2017, and the ODNP is continually adding new titles.
Finding Historical Newspapers by State
Digital Newspapers in Ethnic Museums
Pacific Christian Advocate
A Methodist newspaper published in Salem and later Portland, Oregon printed from 1850 to 1932. It focused on news of interest to Methodists in the Oregon Territory, and later across the State of Oregon.
Primary Source Databases (FullText)
America's Historical Newspapers
Provides full text to over 700 historical newspapers. Hatfield Library has series 1, which covers newspapers that began publishing in the colonial period, with some titles providing coverage into the later 1800s. Coverage: 1690-1876
American Periodical Series Online
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage: 1740-1900
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Eventually, it is hoped that it will contain newspapers from all U.S. states and territories. Coverage: 1836-1922
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
New York Times (1980-present)
Provides the most current access to the New York Times, but does not include graphics, ads, and some commentary.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1994
Archives & Special Collections
State of Oregon Library Catalog
The primary focus of the library collection is state and federal documents, government research, and Oregon history.
State Library of Oregon Digital Collections
Includes: current and historical state government publications, maps,publications of other Oregon entities, including city, county, and tribal governments, and more
WPA Photographs at the Oregon State Library
The Oregon State Library's photograph collection contains several thousand glass plate negatives and prints collected from the Trover Photo Studios, from individual donors, and from the Work Projects Administration (WPA Series 4 : Oregon counties).
Web Exhibits and Projects at the Oregon State Archives
The Archives Division, established in 1947, houses and provides access to the permanently valuable records of Oregon government. Oldest documents at the archives include records of the provisional and territorial governments and the Oregon Constitution.
American Memory Historical Collections
The home page for the American Memory Historical Collections from the Library of Congress. American Memory provides free access to historical images, maps, ...
The Oregon Historical Society
The Research Library's collections encompass library and archival materials, including books, serials, newspapers, oral histories, manuscripts, government documents, genealogical and biographical material, photographs, film, and maps.
U of Oregon Special Collections & University Archives
Here you will find an unmatched and irreplaceable record of Northwest history and culture.
OSU Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center
This archive collects in five main areas: the History of OSU, the History of Science, Natural Resources, Multiculturalism in Oregon and Rare Books.
Oregon Multicultural Archives
Digital & Related Resources from the Oregon State University Libraries
Salem Online History
Salem History Project which was funded by a two year grant (2003-2005), and has not been updated since that time. Includes the Oregon Historic Photo Collection, which contains thousands of historic Oregon photographs dating from the mid 1800's, with a special focus on the City of Salem and Western Oregon communities.
Willamette Heritage Center Archives
The Willamette Heritage Center houses more than 13,000 objects and 200,000 photographic images. Our research library and archives contains more than 4,500 books and thousands of records.
Oregon State Archives
The State Archives preserves historical records and makes them available for use.
Asahel Bush House Museum
Explores and interprets Salem’s Bush Family, Bush’s Pasture Park, the cultural diversity of Salem history and the development of early Oregon.
Digitized Microfilm vs. Digital Scans of Primary Documents