Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

HIST 221: History Workshop: Race & Ethnicity in the American West: Archives

Collegian

Search The Collegian for articles. For over 130 years Willamette students have experienced and reported on local (specifically WU campus!), regional, and national events in the pages of The Collegian. This resource is keyword searchable from 1875 to present. 

The Collegian, September 13, 1968

The Yearbook

The Wallulah (yearbook)  is online and keyword searchable between 1903 - 2006. 

1998 Wallulah

Larsen Chemawa Indian School Collection

The Charles E. Larsen Chemawa Indian School collection is a compilation of Chemawa Indian School and Northwest Native American history dating from the late nineteenth to early twentieth century. Materials in this collection give a look at student and employee life on the Chemawa campus. 

Willamette University Archives

Willamette University Archives collects, preserves and provides access to records related to the history of Willamette University, Salem and the Willamette Valley, and the nation.  Collecting areas include: University Archives, Political Papers, Personal Papers, and Pacific Northwest Artists papers.  

Campus Photograph Collection

The Willamette University Campus Photograph Collection is comprised of over 2,700 photographic prints, negatives, slides, and copy prints of sketches and blueprints, is a rich documentary resource covering nearly a century and a half of Willamette’s history. 

W. U. Japanese Garden 1991

Willamette University Photograph Collection

Western Archives

  • Archives West provides access to finding aids for archival collections in Pacific Northwest colleges and universities, including Willamette University
  • Online Archive of California provides access to finding aids for collections held by libraries, archives and educational institutions across the state.

  • Arizona Archives Online provides access to finding aids for collections held by libraries, museums and archives across the state.

  • Rocky Mountain Online Archives provides access to finding aids for collections in Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming

University Archivist

University Archives and Special Collections

Visit the Archives

Mark O. Hatfield Library / Second Floor

Appointments available
Monday - Friday
9 a.m. - Noon / 1 p.m. - 4 p.m.

Website:  http://library.willamette.edu/archives/

Questions?

Contact: Susan Irwin
smirwin@willamette.edu
503-370-6764

What is a finding aid?

A finding aid, or guide, is a document that describes the content and context of an archival collection.  It includes information on:

  • who created the materials & for what purpose
  • how to access the collection
  • biographical and historical information about the person, group or organization
  • what materials are in the collection and how they are organized
  • inventory, typically at a folder level

Check out this annotated finding aid for a good example of how to read a finding aid. And of course, contact University Archivist, Susan Irwin with any questions.

 

ArchivesGrid

ArchivesGrid is portal that brings together information on historical records held at over 1,000 institutions.  Some collections descriptions include links to images, sound or visual recordings.  

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA has thousands of digitized items from libraries, museums and archives across the country.  Many of the items have been grouped into subject collections.  Check out the Black Women's Suffrage collection.