Research Guides: IDS 101: Spain in Latin America’s Heart: Early Twentieth-Century Art and Poetry Across Continents: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.

Useful Databases for this Course

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
LitFinder
Provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in the Library Catalog

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

IDS 101: Spain in Latin America’s Heart: Early Twentieth-Century Art and Poetry Across Continents: Articles/Databases