Research Guides: Archaeology: Finding Books

Finding Books

One of the best ways to find relevant materials for your research is using the library catalog.
Start your research journey by typing in a topic below and hitting the "search" button.

FIND BOOKS, MOVIES, & MORE!

Select Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings. They are located on the first floor of the Hatfield Library.

Encyclopedia of Geology by Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor); Richard C. Selley (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E516 2005

ISBN: 0126363803

Publication Date: 2004-12-16

This unrivaled, five-volume work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, history of geology, and more.
Techniques in Archaeological Geology by Ervan G. Garrison
Call Number: Hatfield Library 2d Floor Stacks (CC77.5 .G37 2003

ISBN: 354043822X

Publication Date: 2003
Geological Methods for Archaeology by Norman Herz; Ervan G. Garrison
Call Number: Hatfield Library 2d Floor Stacks CC77.5 .H47 1998

ISBN: 0195090241

Publication Date: 1997
The Native North American Almanac by Duane Champagne (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference (E77 .N37 2001

ISBN: 0787616559

Publication Date: 2001
Legal Information: How to Find It, How to Use It by Kent Olson
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference KF240 .O365 1999

ISBN: 0897749634

Publication Date: 1998
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America by Susan Toby Evans (Editor); David L. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference F1218.6 .A73 2001

ISBN: 0815308876

Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East by Eric M. Meyers (Editor); American Schools of Oriental Research Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS56 .O9 1997

ISBN: 0195065123

Publication Date: 1996
The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land by Ephraim Stern (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS111.A2 N488 1992

ISBN: 0132762889

Publication Date: 1993
The Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land by Avraham Negev (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DS111.A2 A73 1990

ISBN: 0130440906

Publication Date: 1990
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by Nancy T. De Grummond
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DE5 .E5 1996

ISBN: 0313220662

Publication Date: 1996
Medieval Archaeology by Pamela Crabtree (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference D125 .M42 2001

ISBN: 0815312865

Publication Date: 2000
The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Aedeen Cremin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference CC70 .W68 2012

ISBN: 9781770851610

Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference (CC70 .E54 2008 )

ISBN: 012548030X

Publication Date: 2007

Historic Roots of Archaeology, vol. 2 pp 1433-1438.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries by Tim Murray (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference CC100 .E54 2001

ISBN: 1576071987

Publication Date: 2001
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts by Gordon Campbell
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference NK28 .G76 2006

ISBN: 0195189485

Publication Date: 2006
The Grove Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks N31 .D5 1996

ISBN: 1884446000

Publication Date: 2003

The only comprehensive art reference work in the world. It covers all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990’s in 34 volumes. This is also available online as Grove Art Online.

Browse for Books

Based on the Library of Congress Classification. The general collection of the Hatfield Library is located on the second floor.

C Auxiliary Sciences of History
CC Archaeology
CC1-960 Archaeology
CC72-81 Philosophy. Theory
CC73-81 Methodology
CC83-97 Study and teaching. Research
CC135-137 Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiquities. Antiquities and state
CC140 Forgeries of antiquities
CC200-260 Bells. Campanology. Cowbells
CC300-350 Crosses
CC600-605 Boundary stones
CC700-705 Stone heaps, cairns, etc., of unknown purpose
CC710 Hill figures
CC960 Lanterns of the dead