Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Major Theatre History Reference Books
American Playwrights Since 1945: a guide to scholarship, criticism, and performance
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PS 350.A43
Includes bibliographic essays, production histories and critical sources on modern American playwrights.
Asian American playwrights : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PS 338.A74 A9 2002
Alphabetically arranged entries provide biographical, critical, and bibliographical information about 52 Asian American playwrights.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1861 .C65 2007
An A to Z reference for modern drama. It highlights the interdisciplinary nature of drama by placing playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts. It focuses on drama in the literary sense rather than as performance. It also follows the development of modern theater in both Western Europe and Eastern Europe.
Critical Survey of Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PR 623 .C75 1994
Entries are arranged alphabetically by author. There is a list of the playwright’s principal works, literary forms, achievements, biographical information, analysis of his/her works and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2860 .E53 2007
Alphabetically arranged entries present information about playwrights, directors, actors, places, themes, styles, costumes, and sets of both modern and traditional Asian theater.
Latin American dramatists since 1945
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PQ 7082.D7 H37 2003
This resource compiles and locates biographical and bibliographical information of over 700 prominent Latin American dramatists of the late 20th century
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1625.M3 1984
Ranging from the earliest drama to the theater of the 1980's this encyclopedia includes coverage of national drama and theater around the world, theater companies, and musical comedy.
Major Modern Dramatists
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference N7560 .H34 1974
v. 1. American, British, Irish, German, Austrian, and Swiss dramatists v. 2. Norwegian, Swedish, French, Belgian, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Hungarian, and Polish dramatists
Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2220.B6
The standard one-volume source on American theatre. Also available electronically in the Oxford Reference Online database.
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2035 .W67 1994
Six-volume encyclopedia documenting artistic development around the world. Includes articles on playwriting, music theatre, dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture, technology, training, criticism, and scholarship.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference ML102.P66 G84 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian