This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Finding News about People & Businesses in Local Media (Salem, Portland & Eugene; Oregon): Main

Guide to finding Local Newspapers Salem, Portland and Eugene (Oregon)

Accessing Local Newspapers in Salem, Portland & Eugene (Oregon):

Many local newspapers across the country do not participate in multi-publication indexing projects.  So you have to be prepared to search local newspaper separately.  And you have to go to each newspaper’s respective website.  Many newspapers (such as Astoria, Oregon's The Daily Astorian) only provide free access for a very limited times pan, on a rolling basis.  If a publisher says that their free access is limited to current two weeks”, then you will not find any articles that were published 15 days ago!

SALEM area:

Salem’s Statesmen-Journal (daily coverage of the City fo Salem as well as all of Marion & Polk counties).  Full text coverage from the PROQUEST group runs from January 1999 to the present, with a 1 day delay.

            Requires WU login to use this campus-wide subscription based service

Salem Business Journal (monthly coverage of businesses in Marion & Polk counties)
            http://www.salembusinessjournal.com

Salem Weekly: (primary focus on Salem, some coverage of outlying areas in Marion & Polk counties)
            http://www.willamettelive.com

PORTLAND area:

The Oregonian Newspaper (daily coverage of metro Portland - the largest daily newspaper in Oregon).  Full text coverage from the NEWSBANK group runs from September 1987 to the present. 

            Requires WU login to use this campus-wide subscription based service

Portland Business Journal (weekly coverage of business oriented news in metro Portland & Vancouver)
            http://www.bizjournals.com/portland

Portland Mercury (weekly, primary focus on the city of Portland)
            http://www.portlandmercury.com

Portland Tribune (weekly, covering metro Portland)
            http://www.portlandtribune.com

Willamette Week Magazine: (primary focus on the city of Portland)
            http://www.wweek.com

Oregon Business magazine (monthly, statewide coverage):
            Use the REGIONAL BUSINESS NEWS from Hatfield Library's database collection

EUGENE area:

Eugene’s Register Guard (daily coverage of Eugene, Springfield and Lane county)

            Requires WU login to use this campus-wide subscription based service

Eugene Weekly (primary focus on the city of Eugene)
            http://www.eugeneweekly.com

STATEWIDE across Oregon:

Oregon Newspaper Sources (access to over 40 participating daily & weekly newspapers from across Oregon, and also some college newspapers).  "Access World News" provides full text coverage from the NEWSBANK family of databases with each individual newspaper having its own unique starting point & dates of coverage.  This database allows you to choose from any combination of underlying sources.

            Requires WU login to use this campus-wide subscription based service

 Other Media Related Libguides:

Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)