This is the "Home" page of the "Newspaper Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Articles  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.willamette.edu/how-to-find-newspaper-articles Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

These guides will help you find and locate other types of information.

 

Finding Newspaper Articles

 

Finding Local Newspaper Articles

Salem, Portland & Eugene Newspapers

Most local newspapers do not participate in multi-publication indexing projects, so you will need to search each local newspaper's website separately.  Most newspapers only provide free access for a limited time

Salem’s Statesmen-Journal (daily, focus on Marion & Polk counties)
            http://www.statesmenjournal.com

Salem Business Journal (monthly, focus on businesses in Marion & Polk counties)
            http://www.salembusinessjournal.com

Salem Weekly: (weekly, focus on Salem and Marion & Polk counties)
            http://www.willamettelive.com

Portland Business Journal (weekly, focus on Portland & Vancouver)
            http://www.bizjournals.com/portland

Portland Mercury (weekly, focus on Portland)
            http://www.portlandmercury.com

Portland Tribune (weekly, focus on Portland)
            http://www.portlandtribune.com

Willamette Week Magazine: (weekly, focus on Portland)
            http://www.wweek.com

OregonLive: selective online news from the Oregonian (daily, focus on Portland)
            http://www.oregonlive.com

Oregon Business magazine (monthly, focus on statewide businesses):
            Use the REGIONAL BUSINESS NEWS from Hatfield Library's database collection

Eugene’s Register Guard (daily, covers Eugene, Springfield and Lane county)
            Use the REGISTER GUARD Index from Hatfield Library's database collection

Eugene Weekly (weekly, focus on Eugene)
            http://www.eugeneweekly.com

 

Finding National & International Newspaper Articles

 

National Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present)
            Photographs and other graphics are not included; only the text is made available. 

New York Times Historical (1851 - 2006)
            Photographs and other graphs are included with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Newspaper Source (1984- present)
            Contains articles from 143 regional newspapers, mostly from the USA. 

Wall Street Journal (1980 - present)
            Comprehensive coverage from the world's leading financial and business newspaper.

Master File Premier (various dates)
            Popular magazines typically found in public libraries & family reading collections.

Academic Search Premier (various dates)
            Academic oriented magazines, with some overlap of popular resources.

Business Source Premier (various dates)
            Mix of trade magazines, professional magazines & academic business publications.

International Newspapers

Lexis Nexis Academic (1980 - present)
            Photographs and other graphics are not included; only the text is made available. 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Ford Schmidt
Contact Info
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5407
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip