Research Guides: Government Information: Documents Collection

Locating U.S. Government Documents in the Library

Most documents can be located by searching the library's online catalog by title, author, subject, or keyword. The catalog will indicate whether the document is held physically in the library or available via the Internet.

Government documents cover a wide range of topics-- from current health issues to sustainability to foreign policy. Many documents contain research data and expert findings not available elsewhere.

All government documents are available for use by members of the Willamette community and the general public. Access to government information on the Internet is available on the library's computers; wireless access is available via the campus and public networks.

WU Libraries Catalogs

Find Books, Movies and More

govinfo

GovInfo is free U.S. Government information for all.

GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Selected Government Documents in the Library's Collection

Congressional Record
Call Number: Periodical
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present.
County and City Extra
Call Number: HAT Ref. HA 202 .A36 / HAT Internet
County and City Extra is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. Topical coverage is broad, including data on agriculture, crime, education, elections, housing, labor force, poverty, social services, and water use.
Economic Report of the President Transmitted to the Congress
Call Number: HAT Ref. HC 106.5 .A272 / HAT Internet
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chair of the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration’s domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation's economic progress with text and extensive data appendices. You can download the full report or individual chapters in PDF format. Statistical appendix tables are also available for download in either PDF or Excel format.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Call Number: HAT Govt Document S 1.1:
Published by the Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State, this series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Currently, online access is available for documents from the administrations of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks J 82
Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama are included in the Public Papers series. Currently, govinfo provides online access to all of these presidents.
United States Congressional Serial Set
Call Number: HAT Govt Document Y 1.1/2: / HAT Internet
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history. The online version covers the period from 1817 to 1994.
The World Factbook
Call Number: HAT Internet
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.