This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Citation Styles: MLA

APA, Chicago, CSE (Biology), MLA, Cite Internet Sources, Citation Tools, and Other Citation Styles

Writing Center

  
   

Having problems writing your paper?  The Writing Center offers individual appointments with a writing consultant. Writing Center Consultants will give honest feedback about where the writing confuses them, or loses them, particularly interests them, leaves them needing additional explanation or support, and the like. They can help writers to organize their arguments more effectively by asking them, for example, what the organizing principle at work in the current draft is.

Writing Center Web Page
(503-370-6959)

FORD HALL HOURS

  • Sun 3:00-9:00 pm
  • Mon 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Thu 3:00-9:00 pm

HATFIELD LIBRARY HOURS

  • Mon 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Thu 6:00-9:00 pm

Support for students whose home language is not English will also be provided. Appointments are available for signup on the WISE site, Writing Center, with those of all other consultants.  Print forms are available in the Writing Center (Ford 105)

LOCATION
The Writing Center is located on the ground floor of Ford Hall (Room 105). 

MLA Guides (Print)

MLA Style Guide

The Modern Language Association (MLA) style is designed for the humanities (e.g. English, Spanish, German). These examples are adapted from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and provides examples of how to document source material when preparing scholarly papers.  Printed copies of the MLA Handbook are located in the citation manual collection by the reference desk (Call number: Reference LB2369.G53 2003).

You will need to cite your sources in two places within your paper: in-text and bibliography
Part I outlines how to cite a source in the paragraph where you have quoted, summarized, or paraphrased from the source (called an in-text citation)

Part II outlines how to create an list of references, known as a bibliography, at the end of your paper that lists anything you cite.

CITATIONS IN TEXT

You must cite the source of either a quotation or paraphrased material. Include the author's name and the page number(s) from which the material was taken in parentheses following the statement you make. If you mention the author in the text, you do not have to repeat his or her name in the citation. If you cite more than one work by the same author in your paper, you must include a short title to inform the reader of which work you are citing.

Citing in text by paraphrasing:
In A Critical History of American Literature David Lynch provides a useful discussion of the Romantics (538-89), as well as authors from other periods.
Citing in text by paraphrasing:
In the 1990s, media coverage of police brutality reached an all time high (Marshall 6).
Citing in text by quoting:
The author has described this era to be "the most turbulent in modern history" (Brown 21).
Citing in text by quoting:
In "The Threshold of the Mountain in Dante's Divine Comedy," Helen Luke notes that "almost daily this great image of Dante's passage from the blind murk to the shining dark may come to our aid"(55).

PART II - REFERENCES

Book:
Single author
Pollak, Vivian R. Dickinson: The Anxiety of Gender. Ithaca: Cornell UP, 1984.
Book:
Multiple authors
Holman, C. Hugh and William Harman. A Handbook to Literature. New York: Macmillan, 1992.
Reference Book Article
"Mandarin." Encyclopedia Americana. 1980 ed.
Journal Article:
With continuous pagination
Spear, Karen. "Building Cognitive Skills in Basic Writers." Teaching English in the Two-Year College 9 (1983): 91-98.
Journal Article:
Uses only issue numbers or pages each issue separately
Lyon, George Ella. "Contemporary Appalachian Poetry: Sources and Directions." Kentucky Review 2.2 (1981): 3-22.
Journal Article:
Weekly or biweekly
Begley, Sharon. "A Healthy Dose of Laughter." Newsweek 4 Oct. 1982: 60-88.
Journal Article:
Monthly or bimonthly
Snyder, Mark. "Self-Fulfilling Stereotypes." Psychology Today July 1982: 60-88.
Newspaper Article
Collin, Glenn. "Single-Father Survey Finds Adjustment a Problem." New York Times 21 Nov. 1983, late ed.: B17.
Internet Resources

Author/editor. Title. Edition statement (if given). Place of publication: publisher, date. Medium. Source of electronic information (if available). Available: URL. Access date.

Unlandherm, Frank. Middle East studies resources . New York: Columbia University, 1997. Online. Columbia University: Available: http://www.columbia.edu/cu/libraries/indiv/area/MiddleEast/index.html. 19 August 1997.

Arab republic of Egypt. Austin, TX: Center for Middle East Studies, 1 June 1997. Online. Middle East Network Information Center. Available: http://menic.utexas.edu/menic/countries/egypt.html. 18 August 1997.

Other

For other examples of citing Internet resources see: The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. (Ref. LB 2369 .G53 2003) sections 5.9 (page 207), sections 6.4 (page 242).

The MLA website also has helpful info on their Frequently Asked Questions about MLA style page.

 

RefWorks Transitioning to Zotero

NOTE: We will transition to Zotero soon after the end of the spring 2017 semester. RefWorks will be available to use throughout the summer and 2017 fall semester, during which time current RefWorks users will be encouraged to transition to Zotero. Our library staff will be able to help with the transition. 

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management and citation tool. Import references from databases, library catalogs, generic web sites, and more. It converts to hundreds of citation formats quickly and easily. 

Zotero is a free, open source browser app that collects, manages, cites, and shares your research sources. It lives right in your web browser, and has a similar design to the iTunes library. 

 

For help with either RefWorks or Zotero, or questions concerning the transition please contact:
John Repplinger jrepplin@willamette.edu 503-370-6525
Bill Kelm, bkelm@willamette.edu, 503-375-5332