This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

GSM 5107: Secondary Marketing - Creating Satisfied Customers: Market Share & Rankings

Print resources found in Hatfield Library’s Reference Collection

These 2 resources are not online, but they are physically available on the First Floor of the Hatfield Library on the Salem campus.  Since these are “reference books” these books do not leave the library.

If you are in the PMBA program based in Portland, these same 2 resources are also available in person in Downtown Portland at the Central Library location of the Multnomah County Library System, in their Central Industry Collection.

  • Market Share Reporter:  (a 2 volume set in the reference collection) Hatfield Library - Reference #HF 5410 .M35   /   Multnomah County Library - Central Industry Collection #R 658.83 M345

Contains summaries of over 3,600 published market share reports from around the world.  There are 5 major categories of reports reproduced in this resource: 

  • Corporate market shares
  • Institutional shares (by state, by region, or by type of provider)
  • Brands names
  • Product, commodity, service of facility shares
  • Public policy or governmental entities

All information was extracted from publicly distributed copies of the underlying data, and they are presented without any context from the associated articles or textual analysis.  Published sources include professional & trade associations, local & regional newspapers, industry websites, corporate filings with the SEC, government agencies and independent marketing research firms.  Some items are accompanied by pie charts or bar graphs.  All entries spell out where the information came from, but sometimes a publication’s legal name seems to be lacking uniqueness, such as the magazine “Marketing” which does not clarify where in the world it is from.  Some entries are so narrowly defined, that only one firm is named, such as Leading Refrigerated Beverage Machine Makers in Australia, 2005.  You should also be aware of parenthetical statements, such as the growing number of entries that worn users when the underlying market shares exclude items sold by WalMart.

 

  • Business Rankings Annual (a 4 volume set in the reference collection) Hatfield Library - Reference #HG 4050 .B88   /   Multnomah County Library - Central Industry Collection #R 338.74 B9791

This is organized very similar to the Market Share Reporter, but this resource focuses on Rankings, rather than percentages of market share.  Citations to published articles typically include page numbers & issue dates.  When the underlying original document comes from web resources, unfortunately those are typically shown with a generic URL, rather the specific source where the data is actually located.  This resource typically shows the Top Ten for a category, but there are some items, such as “Largest Manufacturing Companies” in a country that only shows the Top Three competitors.

Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)

Gary Klein's picture
Gary Klein
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

Work phone: #503-370-6743

Gary's general work schedule (Fall 2019):
Mon, Tue, and Thu = 9:30am -- 6:30pm; Wed = 1pm -- 9pm,; Fri = 9:30am -- 5:30pm and by appointment at other times.
Website