Oregon's State Government: Overview of Oregon's Legislative System and How to Engage with State Legislators

Insight into the procedures for: What laws are the legislature considering? Attending a hearing. Testifying at a hearing. Lobbying on proposed legislation. Public action committees. Ballot initiatives.

Information about Oregon's unique vote by mail system & voter information pamphlet, as well as online registration for new voters or changing addresses within the State of Oregon.

How a idea can be incorporated into law. Also provides searchable access to 10 most recent years of bills (submitted, pending, passed or failed). Includes legislative history of each bill. Can access full texts of laws since 1999, and also all current Oregon Revised Statues; Oregon Administrative Rules; Rules of Civil Procedure, and State Constitution.

Listings of all current Senate / House / Joint committees, rosters of who is assigned to each committee, current agendas of each committee. Also includes calendar of all committee meetings (subject to change on short notice when legislators are "in session"), and how citizens can participate by providing input to committees.

Senators serve 4 year terms and represent districts containing about 127,700 citizens. Directory of all senators, their leaders, partisan caucuses, and all press releases issued by Oregon's individual senators.

House Representatives serve 2 year terms and represent districts containing about 63,850 citizens. Directory of all house representatives, their leaders, partisan caucuses, and all press releases issued by Oregon's individual house members.

This book is a compact encyclopedia providing official coverage of the State of Oregon, since 1911. This is the best starting point to see if there is a state agency that covers a specific topic. It also is a fact book (tallest spot, official mascot, etc). Unfortunately, this resource cannot help you in locating Federal agencies that focus on Oregon. Likewise, this book will not help you to locate resources that exist only a at County or City level, within the state of Oregon. For those question, please consult with a research librarian, available at the Hatfield Library.