Research Guides: JAPN 201: Modern Japanese Society & Culture: Reference Materials

Japanese Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: HAT Reference DS822.5 .E516 2009
ISBN: 041548152X
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture
Call Number: HAT 2nd Floor Stacks DS822.5 .C365 2009
ISBN: 0521880475
Publication Date: 2009
Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Call Number: HAT Reference DS805 .M63 1998
ISBN: 0815325258
Publication Date: 1997
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan
Call Number: HAT Reference JQ1605 .S86 2003
ISBN: 0415151708
Publication Date: 2003
Japan
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks DS805 .K633
ISBN: 4069310983
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Discover Japan
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks DS821 .H92 1987
ISBN: 0870118358
Publication Date: 1988
Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture
Call Number: In Summit
ISBN: 0313239223
Publication Date: 1989

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: HAT Reference H41.I58 2015
ISBN: 0080970869
Publication Date: 2015
Vol. 12, pp 794-797, Japan: Sociocultural Aspects
Vol. 22, pp 570-575, Social Resilience in Post-Tsunami Japan
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: HAT Reference HM425 .B53 2007
ISBN: 1405124334
Publication Date: 2007
Vol. 5, pp 2435-2438, Japanes-style Management
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: HAT Reference GN550 .E53
ISBN: 081688840X
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Vol. 5, pp. 104-111, Japanese
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ767.84 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0028657144
Publication Date: 2003
Vol. 2, pp. 503-506, Japan
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ9 .E52 2003
ISBN: 0028656725
Publication Date: 2002
Vol. 2., pp. 969-974, Japan

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Call Number: HAT Reference GE170 .I55 2002
ISBN: 041520285X
Publication Date: 2001
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
Call Number: HAT Reference GR35 .G75 2006
ISBN: 0313328471
Publication Date: 2005
Celebrating Life Customs Around the World
Call Number: HAT Reference GT76 .W54 2017
ISBN: 1440836582
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: HAT Reference GT507 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0684313944
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: HAT Reference GT2850 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0684805685
Publication Date: 2002
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Lynn Walter (Editor-In-Chief); Amy Lind; Manisha Desai; Cheryl Toronto Kalny; Bahira Sherif-Trask; Aili Mari Tripp
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ1115 .G74 2003
ISBN: 0313327874
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
v. 1 Asia and Oceania
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Call Number: HAT Reference QC981.8.G56 E47 2012
ISBN: 1412992613
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Call Number: HAT Reference RA441 .E53 2008
ISBN: 1412941865
Publication Date: 2008
The International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: HAT 2nd Floor Stacks LB15 .I569 1994
ISBN: 0080410464
Publication Date: 1994

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
The Grove Dictionary of Art
The only comprehensive art reference work in the world. It covers all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990’s in 34 volumes. This is also available online as Grove Art Online.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
The most comprehensive music encyclopedia in the world. This is also available online as Grove Music Online.

The Anime Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. NC1766.J3 C53 2001
ISBN: 1880656647
Publication Date: 2001
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: East Asia
Call Number: HAT Reference ML100 .G16 1997
ISBN: 0824060415
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
Call Number: HAT Reference PN2860 .E53 2007
ISBN: 031333529X
Publication Date: 2006