Skip to Main Content Libraries

IDS 305: Medieval and Renaissance Studies Colloquium: Reference Materials

Country-specific Medieval Encyclopedias

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DA129 .M43 1998

ISBN: 0824057864
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DC33.2 .M44 1995

ISBN: 0824044444
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DD126 .M43 2001

ISBN: 0824076443
Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DP99 .M33 2003

ISBN: 0415939186
Medieval Italy : An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DG443 .M43 2004 v.2

ISBN: 0415939291
Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DA933 .M43 2005

ISBN: 0415940524
Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 v.2

ISBN: 0415966914
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference DS124 .M386 2003

ISBN: 0415937124

History of Science

Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks Q124.97 .M43 2005

ISBN: 0415969301
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues
Call Number: HAT Reference RA652 .E535 2008

ISBN: 031334101X
The History of Science and Technology
Call Number: HAT Reference Q125 .B945 2004

ISBN: 0618221239

Reference Books on the Middle Ages

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: HAT Reference D114 .D5
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: HAT Reference D114 .O94 2010

ISBN: 0198662629
The Age of Wars of Religion, 1000-1650: An Encyclopedia of Global Warfare and Civilization
Call Number: HAT Reference D114 .N66 2006 v.2

ISBN: 031333045X
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ1143 .W643 2004 v.2

ISBN: 0313330166
Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference HQ1115 .W645 1999

ISBN: 0313296200

[v. 1.] A-F -- [v. 2.] G-P -- [v. 3.] Q-Z
Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: HAT Reference D125 .M42 2001

ISBN: 0815312865
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
Call Number: HAT Reference GR35 .M43 2000 v.2

ISBN: 1576071219
Encyclopedia of the Crusades
Call Number: HAT Reference D155 .A6 2003

ISBN: 0313316597
A Middle English Dictionary, Containing Words Used by English Writers from the Twelfth to the Fifteenth Century by Francis Henry Stratmann; Henry Bradley
Call Number: HAT Reference PE679.S7 1891

ISBN: 1176839632
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature by Edited by Robert Thomas Lambdin and Laura Cooner Lambdin
Call Number: HAT Reference PN669 .E53 2000

ISBN: 0313300542
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend
Call Number: HAT Reference DA152.5.A7 L87 2005

ISBN: 0192802879
The Female Dramatist: Profiles of Women Playwrights from the Middle Ages to Contemporary Times
Call Number: HAT Reference PN471 .P37 1998

ISBN: 0816030154

Reference Books on the Renaissance

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Paul F. Grendler, editor in chief
Call Number: HAT Reference CB361 .E52 1999

ISBN: 0684805146
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Campbell, Gordon
Call Number: HAT Reference CB361 .C27 2003

ISBN: 0198601751
A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance
Call Number: HAT Reference DG445.C66
A Companion to Renaissance Drama by Edited by Arthur F. Kinney
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks PR651 .C66 2002

ISBN: 0631219501
Signs & Symbols in Christian Art: With Illustrations from Paintings of the Renaissance
Call Number: HAT Reference N7830.F37

ISBN: 0195014324
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: HAT Reference BR302.8 .O93 1996

ISBN: 0195064933

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography
ISBN: 0787646555

Shelved in front of Doreen's office.
Old and Middle English Literature
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.146

ISBN: 0810357070
Elizabethan Dramatists
Call Number: Ref. PN771 .D43 v.62
Jacobean and Caroline Dramatists
Call Number: Ref. PN771 .D43 v.58
British Philosophers, 1500-1799
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.252
Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages: Eleventh to Fifteenth Centuries
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.208
German Writers and Works of the early Middle Ages, 800-1170
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.148
German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages, 1170-1280
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.138
German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.179
Medieval Philosophers
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.115
Medieval Japanese Writers
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.203

Encyclopedias and More

Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database. Includes The Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Oxford Companion to English History
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street.

Salem Oregon 97301

library@willamette.edu

Pacific Northwest College of Art Library

511 NW Broadway.

Portland Oregon 97209

pnca-library@willamette.edu