Research Guides: History: Finding More Information

The Perseus Project
"Perseus is a continually growing digital library of resources for studying the ancient world." It includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, and essays on such topics as vase paintings. This important resource for classical studies originated at Tufts University.
Diotíma: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Includes bibliographies, course materials, sources of visual images, and texts dealing with women in the ancient world.
Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet
A vital site for Byzantine studies, as well as late antiquity and the Middle Ages. Access to several search engines is supplied as well as an image collection, texts, and academic teaching resources.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Excellent site from Fordham University. The Sourcebook is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts related to medieval and Byzantine history.
Eurodocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe
(Primary documents online)
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
One of series of history primary sourcebooks intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history.
The World of Dante
This site is sponsored by the Institute for Advanced Technologies in the Humanities, University of Virginia.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

American Memory
A collection of texts, photographs and other materials describing the American past. From the Library of Congress
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
Offers transcripts of selected slave interviews from the WPA. Also provides an introduction to the sources, commenting on the importance of the narratives for research, and explaining inconsistencies and gaps in the narratives.
Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention
Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Includes extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
Documenting the American South
A collection of primary sources on Southern culture, history, and literature. Coverage from the colonial period through the early 20th century.
Federal Reserve History
A gateway to the history of the Federal Reserve with several good articles about economic depressions and recessions.

Oregon Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.
Oregon Historical Society
Provides access to the resources held by the OHS, in Portland. Click on "Research and Library" to find listings for books, photographs,artifacts, moving images, manuscripts, oral history, and maps.
Oregon State Archives
Provides access to holdings in the Oregon State Archives, including the records of politicians, state, local, and federal agencies, and special projects.
Archives West
Provides access to finding aids for archival collections in Pacific Northwest colleges and universities, including Willamette University

History