The Korean War (1950-) grew out of World War II and the Cold War. As a conflict, it was global in scale. Although formal military combat ended in 1953, the legacies of the Korean War persist in both political and personal terms. This class focuses on the Korean War as it was experienced and has been remembered by Asian participants. We will explore the narratives of the war together with personal testimonies and reflections. Course assignments and activities will build skills in close reading and historical interpretation.
Flier with cartoon of Kim Il Sung feeding Chinese Communist Forces while North Korean family goes hungry, printed on front side; and Caricature of Communist dove of peace with captions in Korean language. Documentation sheet included with flier. https://digitalhorizonsonline.org/digital/collection/ndsu-korea/id/493/rec/8
Korean War Propaganda Leaflets (NDSU) is a Digital Collection from the North Dakota State University Archives.
During the Korean War, North Dakota native Albert G. Brauer served as Chief of the Projects Branch, Psychological Warfare Division, G3 section. He was responsible for overseeing the creation of propaganda pamphlets that were airdropped over North Korea. This collection contain propaganda leaflets produced by the United States Army a as well as leaflets produced by the communist forces in Korea.
Korean War, 1950-1953 A digital collection from the Wilson Center.
A collection of primary source documents related to the Korean War. Obtained largely from Russian archives, the documents include reports on Chinese and Soviet aid to North Korea, allegations that America used biological weapons, and the armistice.
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday 7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)
Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.
Archives Hours
Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Appointments available:
Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.
Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
