Research Guides: HIST 256: Colonial Latin America: Reference Materials

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Commodities Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: MOH Reference GT2850 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0684805685
Publication Date: 2002
Europa World Year Book
Call Number: MOL Reference JN 1 .E85
ISBN: 1857435893
Publication Date: 2011

Latin American Studies Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Wars of the Americas
Call Number: HAT Reference E18.75 .M374 2008
ISBN: 1598841009
Publication Date: 2008
Iconic Mexico
Call Number: HAT Reference F1204 .I38 2015
ISBN: 1610690435
Publication Date: 2015
Global Studies: Latin America and the Caribbean
Call Number: HAT Reference F1401 .G53
ISBN: 0078026261
South American Handbook
Call Number: HAT Reference F1401 .S71
ISBN: 1910120413
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: HAT Reference F1406 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0684312700
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Call Number: HAT Reference F1406 .E515 2000
ISBN: 041513188X
Puerto Rico Past and Present
Call Number: HAT Reference F1954 .F47 2015
ISBN: 1440828318
Publication Date: 2015
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues
Call Number: HAT Reference GF50 .J65 2003
ISBN: 0313323984
Publication Date: 2003