Research Guides: HIST 131: Climate &amp; Disaster History in Latin America: Reference Materials

Environmental Studies Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GE170 .I55 2002
ISBN: 041520285X
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GF10 .E63 2004
ISBN: 0415937329
Publication Date: 2003
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference GF50 .J65 2003
ISBN: 0313323984
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HD4482 .E53 2012
ISBN: 9781412988193
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference QC981.8.G56 E47 2012
ISBN: 1412992613
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference RA441 .E53 2008
ISBN: 1412941865
Publication Date: 2008
Pandemics and Global Health
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference RA649 .Y65 2008
ISBN: 9780816070206
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference RA652 .E535 2008
ISBN: 9780313341014
Publication Date: 2008

Latin American Studies Reference Books

Wars of the Americas: A Chronology of Armed Conflict in the Western Hemisphere
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E18.75 .M374 2008
ISBN: 1598841009
Publication Date: 2008
Iconic Mexico
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference F1204 .I38 2015
ISBN: 1610690435
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference F1406 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0684312700
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference F1406 .E515 2000
ISBN: 041513188X
Puerto Rico Past and Present
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference F1954 .F47 2015
ISBN: 1440828318
Publication Date: 2015

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Online Environmental Studies Reference Works

The Oxford Companion to Global Change by Andrew Goudie; David Cuff; David J. Cuff
ISBN: 9780195324884
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
A Dictionary of Ecology (5th ed) by Michael Allaby
ISBN: 0191793159
Publication Date: 2015

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
ISBN: 0684312700
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
The Mexican American Experience
ISBN: 0313316430
Publication Date: 2003
The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature
ISBN: 0415666066
Publication Date: 2012

Hurricane Katrina 2005

Katriniana
This guide focuses on a personal collection of literary, artistic, and musical works gathered over the past decade by Doreen Simonsen. It is a representative, but not comprehensive, list of all possible works about Hurricane Katrina.

Come Hell or High Water: Hurricane Katrina and the Color of Disaster by Michael Eric Dyson
Call Number: MOH 2nd Floor Stacks HV636 2005.L8 D97 2006
ISBN: 0465017614
Publication Date: 2006-01-23

HIST 131: Climate & Disaster History in Latin America: Reference Materials