Research Guides: Environmental Science: Finding Books

Finding Books

One of the best ways to find relevant materials for your research is using the library catalog.
Start your research journey by typing in a topic below and hitting the "search" button.

FIND BOOKS, MOVIES, & MORE!

Select Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings. They are located on the first floor of the Hatfield Library.

Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes
QE521 .R58 2001
This contains over 1,000 listings range from historical volcanoes and quakes (both famous and obscure) to entries on specific seismic phenomena (parasitic cones to jökulhlaup) and general geological principles, such as plate tectonics and seismic wave types. The encyclopedia also contains a lengthy bibliography, a list of Internet resources, a chronological listing of notable quakes and eruptions, and a handful of unforgettable eyewitness accounts.
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science by William A. Nierenberg (Editor)
ISBN: 0122267222

Publication Date: 1991-10-01

Call Number: Reference QE5 .E514 1991 vol. 1-4
This encyclopedia stresses human interaction with all environments on and surrounding the earth, including geologic processes from pure geology to the atmosphere and space.
Encyclopedia of Geology
Call number: Reference QE5 .E516 2005 v.1-5
This unrivaled, five-volume work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, history of geology, and more.
Encyclopedia of minerals
Call number: Reference QE355.R6
This book describes approximately 2,200 minerals, and includes some color photos and drawings. Each mineral includes the chemical classification/structure, crystal system, class, space group, lattice constants, diffraction lines, optical constants, Mohs hardiness, density, cleavage, habit, color-luster, occurrence/location, and references.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Call number: Reference QE703 .E523 1999 v.1
This encyclopedia includes 328 articles ranging from aardvark fossils to a biography of Chinese vertebrate paleontologist Yang Zhungjian. Each entry lists works cited and further reading; biographies list major publications. Finding aids include alphabetic and thematic lists of entries, a list of contributors, and general and taxonomic indexes.
Encyclopedia of volcanoes
Call number: Reference QE522 .E53 2000
This impressive work covers all aspects of volcanism in nine thematic sections: origin and transport of magma, eruption, effusive volcanism, explosive volcanism, extraterrestrial volcanism, volcanic interactions, volcanic hazards, eruption response and mitigation, economic benefits and cultural aspects of volcanism.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E5137 1996 vol. 1-2
This encyclopedia covers oceanography, meteorology, paleontology, and astronomy. The 360 entries fall into five broad areas of study: solid earth processes; surficial earth processes; earth resources and stewardship; earth sciences in the public eye; and earth in space.
Sciences of the earth : an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena
Call Number: Reference QE11 .S38 1998 v.1-2
This surveys the history of geosciences to show the evolution of ideas about the earth. Disciplines (geology, geography, geophysics, oceanography, meteorology, etc.) cover 230-plus articles that describe historical explanations of earthly occurrences, important institutions, major historical issues, and topics that do not fall within mainstream science such as occult philosophy and magic. The emphasis is on Western science, although some other cultures are represented.

Earth Science Encyclopedias
This set of encyclopedia explore the dynamics of the Earth. It covers earth materials and resources, earth surface history, physics and chemistry of the Earth, climate change and underlying factors, geothermometry, geobarometry, glacial events, and mass extinction theories, earthquakes, hazards engineering, hazards predictability, and more.
Environmental Studies
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.

Browse for Books

Based on the Library of Congress Classification. The general collection of the Hatfield Library is located on the second floor.

G Geography. Atlases & Maps
G 70.4 Remote Sensing
GA Cartography & Math Geography
GB Physical Geography
GB 400-GB 649 Geomorphology
GB 651-GB 2998 Hydrology GC Oceanography
GE Environmental Sciences GF Human Ecology GN Anthropology GR Folklore GT Manners & Customes GV Recreation & Leisure

Q Science General
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QE 28 Historical Geology
QE 36 Geologic Maps & Mapping
QE 38 Environmental Geology
QE 511 Plate Tectonics
QE 351-QE 399 Mineralogy
QE 471 Sedimentary Geology
QE 514 Geochemistry
QE 601-QE 613 Structural Geol.
QE 901-QE 996 Paleobiology
QH Biology
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QR Microbiology
S Agriculture
S 590-S 599 Soils

Environmental Science

Willamette University Libraries