Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading Original Print Copies in Special Collections Libraries
Reading Room Policies
Forms, access policies, reading room regulations, etc. for working with original rare books.
Buying Your Own Copy from an Antiquarian Book Dealer or Auction
Borrowing a Copy from a Library
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library-based content and services. WorldCat is a "master" catalog of library materials. It's a way for you to locate a book, video or other item of interest and discover which libraries near you own the item. Individual member libraries in your community and elsewhere provide the actual services, such as loaning you a book or providing access to online articles.
Borrowing a Microfilm Version of the Book
A Microfilm Reader is a device used for reading of documents stored as microform. We have two microfilm readers on the first floor of the library.
Fun video about microfilm in horror movies.
Scholarly Collections Catalogues and Online Databases
The 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed before 1801. It contains catalogue entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Also included is material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic, as well as any book falsely claiming to have been printed in Britain or its territories.
The database contains over 480,000 entries, and represents the holdings of some 2,000 libraries world-wide.
Full-text Collections of Primary Documents:
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) captures most significant monographs published in the UK during the 18th century regardless of language, plus thousands of English-language works from elsewhere.
Early English Books Online
Provides indexing, citations and full text of Early English publications from 1475 to 1800. Included are titles listed in the Short Title Catalogue of Early English Books, 1475-1640 (Pollard and Redgrave), Short Title Catalogue of Early English Books, 1641-1700 (Wing), and the Thomason Tracts, 1640-1660. Included are texts covering English literature, languages, music, religion, science, travel and exploration and politics. Coverage: 1475 - 1700.
Evans Digital Edition (Early American Imprints)
The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Upon completion, the Evans Digital Edition will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images. Coverage: 1639 - 1800.
Library of American Civilization(LAC)
The LAC is a collection of materials (published in microfiche) relating to all aspects of American life and literature from the beginning to the outbreak of World War I. Included are pamphlets, periodicals, documents both public and private, biographies and autobiographies of persons both known and obscure, fiction and non-fiction, poetry, collected works and papers, material of foreign origin relating to America, and many rare books not generally available. Each item is cataloged in the library's online catalog. The call number begins with LAC.
Harold Jantz Collection of German Baroque Literature
This collection contains 3,701 titles from the private collection of historian and scholar Harold Jantz and includes pre- and post-Baroque works covering the years between the late 1500s and early 1700s. The collection is comprised of works and editions that have not been republished since the German Baroque period.