Research Guides: IDS 101: Psy Fi: Exploring the Science of Human Behavior through Science Fiction: Finding More

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Access World News

This database provides the full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.

Oregonian (1861-present)

Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.

More Newspaper Databases...

Oxford Reference Online
(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
Encyclopedia Britannica
(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright
Call Number: H41 .I58 2015

Publication Date: 2015

Set of 26 volumes
Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN3433.8 .A52 2004

ISBN: 1591581710

Publication Date: 2004

Pages 182-185, Dick , Philip K., U.S. 1928-1982
New Age Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BP605.N48 M34

ISBN: 9780810371590

Publication Date: 1990

Pages 311-315, Neo-Pagans and the New Age
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference CB9 .N49 2005

ISBN: 0684313774

Publication Date: 2004-12-03

Volume 5, pages 2188-2191, Science Fiction
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E169.1.J3 2013

ISBN: 9781558628472

Publication Date: 2013

Volume 4, pages 462-467, Science Fiction Publishing
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998

ISBN: 0195113071

Publication Date: 1998

Volume 1, pages 123-130, Artificial Intelligence
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BF31 .E54 2000

ISBN: 1557986509

Publication Date: 2000

Volume 7, pages 107-110, Robotics
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Hatfield Reference RC455.2.C4 D54 2013

ISBN: 0890425558

Publication Date: 2013

Dependent Personality Disorder, p 675-678
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E169.1.O945 2013

ISBN: 0199764352

Publication Date: 2013

Volume 2, pages 370-372, Science Fiction
American Countercultures
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HM647 .A44 2009

ISBN: 0765680602

Publication Date: 2008

Volume 3, pages 642-645, Science Fiction
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular Culture
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference E184.35 .E54 2009

ISBN: 0313339899

Publication Date: 2008

Pages 362-366, Science Fiction
Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference HQ1115 .W645 1999

ISBN: 0313296200

Publication Date: 1999

Volume 3, pages 1273-1275, Science Fiction
Movies in American History
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN1993.5.U6 M685 2011

ISBN: 159884296X

Publication Date: 2011

Volume 3, pages 951-955, Film Noir
The Encyclopedia of Fantasy
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN3435 .E53 1997

ISBN: 0312145942

Publication Date: 1997

Pages 968-969, Twilight Zone
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Call Number: HAT Ref DC33.7 .E53 1998

ISBN: 0415131863

Publication Date: 1998

Pages 484-485, Science Fiction
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Call Number: HAT Ref DD290.26 .E53 1999

ISBN: 0415124484

Publication Date: 1999

Page 555, Science Fiction
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: HAT Ref DS822.5 .E516 2009

ISBN: 041548152X

Publication Date: 2009

Pages 443-444, Science Fiction
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Call Number: HAT Ref DP233.5 .E63 1999

ISBN: 0415131871

Publication Date: 1999

Page 472, Science Fiction
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Call Number: HAT Ref F1406 .E515 2000

ISBN: 041513188X

Publication Date: 2001

Volume 3, pages 1360-1361, Science Fiction
Encyclopedia of Russian History
Call Number: HAT Ref DK14 .E53 2004

ISBN: 0028656938

Publication Date: 2004

Volume 4, pages 1353-1354, Science Fiction

Science Fiction Films in the Library
Open this list to see 70 science fiction film titles, each entry is accompanied by a clickable link to get more information about the underlying films that can be found inside the Hatfield Library. There is a whole section of videos devoted solely to Science Fiction. The call number starts with: PN1995.9.S26

Foreign Language Science Fiction Films

Alphaville (1965)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video PN1995.91.F7 A3 1996

In this exciting blend of crime thriller and sci-fi drama, tough American detective Lemmy Caution must destroy the supercomputer that runs Alphaville, a dictatorial state where love and poetry are banned. (In French with English subtitles)
The End of August at the Hotel Ozone (1967)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.91.C9 K66 2006

Nuclear war has destroyed almost all civilization. A group of women has gone to primal barbarity to survive. They go in search for men to help them have children. (In Czech with English subtitles)
Godzilla (1954)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.91.J3 G67 2012

It is also a remarkably humane and melancholy drama made in Japan at a time when the country was still reeling from nuclear attack and H-bomb testing. Its rampaging radioactive beast, the poignant embodiment of an entire populations fears, became a beloved international icon of destruction, spawning more than twenty sequels and spinoffs. (In Japanese with English subtitles)
Man Facing Southeast (1986)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (PN1995.91.S6 H7 1987)

A man named Rantes appears in a Buenos Aires psychiatric hospital. He claims to be an alien vistor and becomes a source of hope to the other patients. (In Spanish with English subtitles)
Solaris (1972)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.91.R8 S75 2011

Ground control has been receiving strange transmissions from the three remaining residents of the Solaris space station. When cosmonaut and psychologist Kris Kelvin is sent to investigate, he experiences the strange phenomena that afflict the Solaris crew, sending him on a voyage into the darkest recesses of his own consciousness. (In Russian with English subtitles)

Science Fiction Films

Georges Melies: First Wizard of Cinema 1896-1913
Call Number: Call Number: HAT AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.S5 G36 2008

Includes Le voyage dans la lune = A trip to the moon (1902) (12:46)
The End of the World / A Trip to Mars
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.S5 V344 2006

In "The end of the world" (1916) the rumour spreads that a comet is on a collision course with Earth. "A trip to Mars" (1918) is a lavishly produced space-travel picture and a milestone in the science fiction genre." From Denmark.
Aelita: Queen of Mars (1924)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.S5 A35 1999

An engineer living in Moscow dreams of the Queen of Mars and builds a spaceship to take him to her.
From the Soviet Union.
Metropolis (1927)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.S5 M4 2002

The story of a 21st century city run by a "super trustee" and his collaborators who live in a paradise-like garden. Workers are totally enslaved by machines and condemned to live underground. From Germany.
Plan 9 from Outer Space (1958)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN 1995.9 .H6 P53 2000

Follows the alien-led zombie invasion as the aliens attempt, for the 9th time, to take over earth.
Day of the Triffids (1963)
https://orbiscascade-willamette.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01ALLIANCE_WU/2i92kk/alma99121606830001451
Akira (1987)
Call Number: HAT AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.A6 A47 2001

A powerful psychic force known only as Akira resurfaces in Neo-Tokyo in the 21st century.
Her (2013)
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video (DVD) PN 1995.9 .D7 H447 2014

Theodore, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive and unique entity in its own right.
Guardians of the Galaxy, Volumes I - III (2014) by James Gunn
Call Number: Hatfield Library AV Video PN1995.9.S26 G827 2014

Peter Quill finds himself the object of an unrelenting bounty hunt after stealing a mysterious orb coveted by Ronan, a powerful villain with ambitions that threaten the entire universe. To evade Ronan, Quill is forced into an uneasy truce with a quartet of disparate misfits.

Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction
The Center was founded in 1982 as a Kansas Board of Regents Center at the University of Kansas, the first such organization at a major university. Professor James Gunn established it as a focus for the SF programs he offered at KU, beginning in 1969 with one of the first regular science-fiction courses ever offered at a major university.
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
at Texas A&M University.
Science Fiction Studies
at DePauw University. The Science Fiction Studies Website publishes abstracts of all articles, as well as the full texts of all reviews, historical documents, and selected essays appearing in the journal since its founding in 1973
Science Fiction & Fantasy Adventure Films
An annotated webliography of films from the University of California, Berkeley.

IDS 101: Psy Fi: Exploring the Science of Human Behavior through Science Fiction

Foreign Language Science Fiction Films

Science Fiction Films

Willamette University Libraries