Research Guides: IDS 101: Persian Folklores and Fairy Tales : Videos, Image Databases, &amp; Websites

Streaming Videos from the Academic Video Online Database

The Persians: A History of Iran, Episode 1
British journalist, Samira Ahmed, gains unprecedented access to Iran to reveal how the Persian Empire was born. Starting with a 3000 year old temple, she treks to beautiful historical sites. She also shows how Persian language and culture survived through the centuries, especially through the Shahnameh, a collection of tales about Iran's pre-Islamic kings. The characters are part-mythical and part-historical and the book tells of their heroic deeds against divine and human forces.
The Persians: A History of Iran, Episode 2
Zoroastrianism, the coming of Islam, and the power of Ferdowsi's Shahnemeh in helping Persians preserve their language and culture..
The Persians: A History of Iran, Episode 3
From the 13th century invasion of Genghis Khan to the overthrowing of the Shah by Iranian Revolution in 1979, all viewed by how leaders heeded or ignored Ferdowsi's advice for Kings in the Shahnameh.

Artstor

Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections

Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collection is comprised of over 6,000 culturally and historically diverse artworks. It is a learning resource for the region and supports the teaching curriculum of Willamette University. The collection contains works from the ancient Mediterranean and Egypt, paintings and decorative arts from Asia, paintings and prints from 18th- and 19th-century Europe and America, with a particular focus on historic and contemporary regional artwork from the Northwest and traditional Native American baskets. Type in a word in the Search Box to find digital versions of these objects. (Try Portrait)

Websites

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Images from the Persian Empire
British Museum
360 degree virtual tour of Assyrian sculpture and Balawat Gates in Room 6 of the British Museum
British Museum Collection
Search the British Museum collection with names from Persian mythology.
Oriental Institute Museum
360 degree virtual tour of Oriental Museum in Chicago.
Orientatal Institute of Chicago Museum
Browse the various collections of ancient artifacts.
Khosru & Shireen
"The Labors of Ferhad" from Internet Medieval Source Book at Fordham University.
Before Romeo and Juliet there was Khosrow and Shirin
From the The People of Ar, a website for all interested in Armenian history & culture.

DVDs in the Library

Aladdin and His Wonderful Lamp (from the Faerie Tale Theatre Series)
Call Number: MOH AV Video (DVD) PN1995.9.S26 F137 2005, Disc 6
A common boy has big dreams, which he finds coming true when he is approached by a magician who presents him an offer he can't refuse. Directed by Tim Burton.
Children Of Heaven
Call Number: MOH AV Video (DVD) PN1995.91.F3 B225 1999
A young boy, Ali, loses his sister Zahra's school shoes. In order to stay out of trouble, the two come up with a plan to share Ali's shoes, but they must keep it a secret from their parents.
Xerxes
Call Number: MOH AV Video M1500.H13 S423 1988
An opera by George Frederic Handel set in Persia about 470 BC and is loosely based upon Xerxes I of Persia.

IDS 101: Persian Folklores and Fairy Tales : Videos, Image Databases, & Websites

Streaming Videos from the Academic Video Online Database

Artstor

Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections

Websites

DVDs in the Library

Willamette University Libraries