Not Finding What You Need?
Not finding what you need?
Try our other databases by type or browse alphabetically.
Searching the Catalog
Searching the Catalog
Learn how to use the catalog to search for books, articles, videos, and more through Summit, our regional lending system, and locally from Willamette. Additional info is available on the Library Catalogs page.
Find Books, Movies, Articles, and More
Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary databases that provides full text access to 8,500+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, and multi-cultural journals. It also indexes nearly 12,500 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Search term highlighting, includes high-quality images. Current editions of journals are excluded due to embargos.
Search for Articles, Books, and more in JSTOR
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Be sure your Google Scholar preferences include Willamette University as your library (under library links) to access Willamette-licensed content. For more customization & info visit our Google Scholar page.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- Oxford Reference Online(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface. - Encyclopedia Britannica(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
EBSCO Search Terms
- Keywords: Epidemic, pandemic, contagious, isolation, social impact, economic impact, biomedicine, resistance, wet markets, pig farms,
- Diseases: Cholera, ebola, Spanish Flu, malaria, tuberculosis, smallpox, chickenpox, leprosy, influenza, SARS, zika, MRSA bacteria, dengue fever, pneumonic plague, Black Bubonic Plague, HIV/AIDS, H3N2, Monkeypox
Examples
Pandemic: Tracking Contagions, from Cholera to Ebola and Beyond by Call Number: RA643 .S52 2016ISBN: 9780374122881Publication Date: 2016-02-16
(Ebook) American Pandemic: The Lost Worlds of the 1918 Influenza Epidemic by ISBN: 9780190238551Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The Rules of Contagion: Why Things Spread and Why They Stop by Call Number: HM1033 .K83 2020bISBN: 9781541674318Publication Date: 2020-07-07
Crisis in the Red Zone: the Story of the Deadliest Ebola Outbreak in History, and of the Outbreaks to Come by Call Number: RA644.E26 P74 2019ISBN: 9780812998832Publication Date: 2019-07-23
The Devil's Flu: the World's Deadliest Influenza Epidemic and the Scientific Hunt for the Virus that Caused it by Call Number: RA644.I6 D38 2000ISBN: 0805066225Publication Date: 2000-10-15
Quarantine Life from Cholera to COVID-19 by Call Number: RA648.5 .N58 2021ISBN: 9781982172466Publication Date: 2021-06-15
Epidemics and Society: from the Black Death to the Present by Call Number: RA649 .S66 2019ISBN: 9780300192216Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Contagious: Cultures, Carriers, and the Outbreak Narrative by Call Number: RA649 .W25 2008ISBN: 9780822341284Publication Date: 2008-01-09
The Pandemic Century: One Hundred Years of Panic, Hysteria, and Hubris by Call Number: RA650.5 .H665 2019ISBN: 9780393254754Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Until Proven Safe: the History and Future of Quarantine by Call Number: RA655 .M36 2021ISBN: 9780374126582Publication Date: 2021-07-20
The Great Mortality: an Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time by Call Number: RC172 .K445 2005ISBN: 0060006927Publication Date: 2005-02-01
